Almond Coconut Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Very Rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
It is rather rich and very sweet. In the coconut layer I used only 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 and I probably could have cut it more without it affecting the taste. I also would recommend only 1/2 cup of almonds. Every bite had too many almond slivers. I also used a 10x13 pan and it held all the topping well. I could see a 9x13 overflowing. But all in all, it tasted like a box cake with two thick layers of frosting. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
MY GOODNESS, THIS CAKE IS SOOOO RICH AND SWEET! MY FAMILY LIKED IT BUT IT WAS JUST OVER THE TOP FOR ME. I LIKE SWEETS JUST LIKE THE NEXT PERSON BUT IT WAS JUST TO MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. It got rave reviews at a family party. The only downside is that it is a little expensive to make but well worth it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
Very good, but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Very very sweet (a bit too sweet for my liking), but also very yummy. Preparation took me much longer than 20 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This one is a keeper! I made it for a church dinner and let me tell you... I got many request for this recipe... and then I got as many reminders to not forget about getting the recipe. Just a note: This recipe filled every available inch of space in a large 11x14 glass pan. It's huge... if I were to make this one for the family, I would make it in 2 9x13 pans (so I could freeze one for later) as suggested by other reviewers. Also, next time I'll add just a bit of Almond extract to the coconut layer (just to tweek it a bit). Another note: If you don't have the large marshmallows on hand, you can use the mini's... 1 large = 13 mini marshmallows... for this recipe you will need 325 mini marshmallows (that also works out to be 6.25 oz or about 3 1/2 cups of the mini marshmallows). Enjoy this one!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This was a great recipe for serious 'sweet tooth' type people. Get some milk handy when chomping this one down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I gave this recipe 5 stars. This cake is so easy to make and it will melt in your mouth. I've made it many, many times. It's always enjoyed by all. Simply delicious!...Talk about a sugar high! Wow! Just a lil bit will do ya! Great recipe! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Sue
Living In: Lebanon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This is a very rich cake. I cut the marshmallows into smaller pieces so they melted faster. I also reduced the coconut and chocolate and it still was a delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States