Almond Coconut Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Very Rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
It is rather rich and very sweet. In the coconut layer I used only 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 and I probably could have cut it more without it affecting the taste. I also would recommend only 1/2 cup of almonds. Every bite had too many almond slivers. I also used a 10x13 pan and it held all the topping well. I could see a 9x13 overflowing. But all in all, it tasted like a box cake with two thick layers of frosting. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
MY GOODNESS, THIS CAKE IS SOOOO RICH AND SWEET! MY FAMILY LIKED IT BUT IT WAS JUST OVER THE TOP FOR ME. I LIKE SWEETS JUST LIKE THE NEXT PERSON BUT IT WAS JUST TO MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. It got rave reviews at a family party. The only downside is that it is a little expensive to make but well worth it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
Very good, but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Very very sweet (a bit too sweet for my liking), but also very yummy. Preparation took me much longer than 20 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This one is a keeper! I made it for a church dinner and let me tell you... I got many request for this recipe... and then I got as many reminders to not forget about getting the recipe. Just a note: This recipe filled every available inch of space in a large 11x14 glass pan. It's huge... if I were to make this one for the family, I would make it in 2 9x13 pans (so I could freeze one for later) as suggested by other reviewers. Also, next time I'll add just a bit of Almond extract to the coconut layer (just to tweek it a bit). Another note: If you don't have the large marshmallows on hand, you can use the mini's... 1 large = 13 mini marshmallows... for this recipe you will need 325 mini marshmallows (that also works out to be 6.25 oz or about 3 1/2 cups of the mini marshmallows). Enjoy this one!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This was a great recipe for serious 'sweet tooth' type people. Get some milk handy when chomping this one down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I gave this recipe 5 stars. This cake is so easy to make and it will melt in your mouth. I've made it many, many times. It's always enjoyed by all. Simply delicious!...Talk about a sugar high! Wow! Just a lil bit will do ya! Great recipe! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Sue
Living In: Lebanon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This is a very rich cake. I cut the marshmallows into smaller pieces so they melted faster. I also reduced the coconut and chocolate and it still was a delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States