Almond Chocolate Coconut Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
These were fabulous! Like the other reviewers suggested, I def recommend adding the extra egg to the fudge cake batter, cutting back on the milk in the chocolate topping, and pressing your thumb in the cups while taking them out of the oven. Also, bc not everyone in my family likes coconut, I substituted graham crackers for coconut in half the marshmellow mix, keeping the rest of the recipe the same...they turned out like little s'more cups. These were gobbled up so quick I had to make more for the true event!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These were AMAZING. I also added an extra egg like other reviewers suggested. Also, I used regular muffin tins instead of mini-muffins and it was fine. I baked them for 10 min, although you could probably do them ~2 min longer, but I liked the fudgy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saco, Maine, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I found that the recipe does not make the full amount...but they are wonderful. An easy recipe that is perfect for buffetts-I made them for work and they were they only thing that was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This recipe is SO good! It was worh the time it takes! One note... I pressed my thumb in the batter in each muffin as I was taking it out of the oven so I had plenty of space for the filling. The only prob. I had was the topping. It didn't harden well and remains tacky to you can't stack the sweets, but who cares! They get eaten too fast! TKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Time consuming but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASHBERRY95
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Had to give this 5 stars because I loved them but had to make a few changes. First change was the crust...I mixed all the ingredients and it was not a consistency for rolling into balls so added another egg and some water. I then baked the crusts for 10 minutes which seemed too long when I took them out of the oven...they got very crunchy but after having the filling in them softened up a little. Next time I will check them after 5 minutes. The coconut filling is awesome! After reading the other review about the chocolate topping not setting up I decided to add less milk to the mixture, next time I will double the amount of chocolate topping because I had to make more. With all that said these were awesome! Everyone loved them and their were many request for the recipe. Thank You, Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This tastes very much like the candy bar it is named after. I needed to make another half batch of the chocolate topping. Made 36 in mini-muffin tins and an 8 x 8-inch dish that I cut into bars. Next time I will put a whole almond on top of each piece. Very rich dessery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These were very good. I followed the suggestions of others and baked for about 7 minutes, added an extra egg to the cake batter, and used 1/8 c. evap milk for frosting. Also pressed my thumb in shells when removing from oven. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monty
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These were awesome. We did as previous reviewers suggested - added an extra egg to the crust batter, and doubled the chocolate topping (using less evaporated milk, 4 tablespoons total). We got 36 cups out of the recipe. They are REALLY good, rich, tasty little treats. Time consuming yet so easy. I know we'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe as written, but didn't have chocolate cake mix, so I used brownie mix instead. It still turned out delicious. I placed the cups in the refrigerator to harden. As mentioned, I also did not get the amount indicated in the recipe. I only got 36 out of the recipe. Brought these to a party and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States