Almond Chocolate Coconut Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe as written, but didn't have chocolate cake mix, so I used brownie mix instead. It still turned out delicious. I placed the cups in the refrigerator to harden. As mentioned, I also did not get the amount indicated in the recipe. I only got 36 out of the recipe. Brought these to a party and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I was a little skeptical at first, seeing the picture, but I won the baking contest at my church with these! It received top marks in taste, and almost everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Photo by monty
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These were awesome. We did as previous reviewers suggested - added an extra egg to the crust batter, and doubled the chocolate topping (using less evaporated milk, 4 tablespoons total). We got 36 cups out of the recipe. They are REALLY good, rich, tasty little treats. Time consuming yet so easy. I know we'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These were very good. I followed the suggestions of others and baked for about 7 minutes, added an extra egg to the cake batter, and used 1/8 c. evap milk for frosting. Also pressed my thumb in shells when removing from oven. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
These were fabulous! Like the other reviewers suggested, I def recommend adding the extra egg to the fudge cake batter, cutting back on the milk in the chocolate topping, and pressing your thumb in the cups while taking them out of the oven. Also, bc not everyone in my family likes coconut, I substituted graham crackers for coconut in half the marshmellow mix, keeping the rest of the recipe the same...they turned out like little s'more cups. These were gobbled up so quick I had to make more for the true event!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Used them for my son's catering business. Everyone really enjoyed them. I did as was suggested and added another egg to the cake batter and only used 2 tablespoons of milk in the frosting. Also after baking cups for 7 minutes, I thumbprinted the cups and baked another 2 minutes. They were perfect for the filling. I didn't spread the frosting all the way to the outside. They looked prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
These were graet and everyone loved them! Just make sure you have a lot of time to make these b/c they were really time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This recipe was very time consuming, and only made half of the listed servings. When I took the lined mini muffin tins out of the oven, the dough had risen so there was little room to put the coconut filling. Then after topping them I waited 4 hours for the chocolate almond mixture to harden up so I could store them, and it never happened. I was very dissapointed, and could not leave them not touching one another so I had to throw them out. (after spending over 1.5 hours in prep time.) Sigh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASHBERRY95
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Had to give this 5 stars because I loved them but had to make a few changes. First change was the crust...I mixed all the ingredients and it was not a consistency for rolling into balls so added another egg and some water. I then baked the crusts for 10 minutes which seemed too long when I took them out of the oven...they got very crunchy but after having the filling in them softened up a little. Next time I will check them after 5 minutes. The coconut filling is awesome! After reading the other review about the chocolate topping not setting up I decided to add less milk to the mixture, next time I will double the amount of chocolate topping because I had to make more. With all that said these were awesome! Everyone loved them and their were many request for the recipe. Thank You, Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Time consuming but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States