Almond Chocolate Coconut Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
The reason we gave these cookies a 4 star rating is that the amount of chocolate called for in the recipe is far too overpowering. We scaled it back to 3 cups and it seemed to allow the almond and coconut flavors to blend in as well. We subsituted 3 cups unlbeached flour + 1.5 cups whole wheat flour and used sliced almonds. Once we got the chocolate ratio right these cookies were fabulous! Quick, easy, and freeze well. A great quick addition to your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Once modified this is a great recipe. I used only 2-1/2 cups of chocolate chips 2 tsp of vanilla extract, 2 tsp Coconut extract, added a full 14 oz bag of shredded coconut and only 4 cups of flour. Cooked for 13 minutes and allowed to fully cool. My wife couldn't keep her hands off them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This recipe is wonderful! I baked the cookies at 350 degrees for 7 1/2 minutes instead of 375 for 8 minutes. They stayed soft and moist. By far, they are one of the best cookies I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Easy to make and delicious. I only made half the recipe, which was plenty. Other modifications: I didn't have any baking soda, so I used baking powder (1 tsp soda = 2 tsp powder), and omitted the salt. I substituted half the vanilla with almond extract, added 1/4 cup extra coconut (because I wanted to finish my jar of it), and added about 1/2 cup less of chocolate chips than called for. These really do taste like almond joy (at least with the almond extract and extra coconut in there), and are a really nice texture. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Excellent cookie recipe Brenda. This will go in the favorites file. I used only 3 cups chocolate chips (mixed milk choc and semi sweet) and they were perfect. Oh yeah, I bought slivered almonds and toasted them. They added a wonderful nutty flavor. Thanks for a great new treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
I made these for the opening of our new Church. These are the BEST cookies I've ever made! They are expensive but well worth it. I used a melon baller to drop them by and got beautiful, same size cookies. Got about 8 dozen. They freeze very well. I made cookies for about 6 weeks and these were just like they had just come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I agree with Mom of Three. Have same amount of chips, cocnut & nuts. If you don't have coconut try oatmeal that's also works. Also, cook at 350 degrees for 8 min. for a more moist cookie. Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Too much chocolate chips (can't find chocolate chips here in Holland easily, so I just chopped a bar of dark chocolate), and adding almond essence would be better than vanilla. I also added more coconut flakes. The first batch was a bit cake like, but with the second batch I flattened the dropped mounds a bit, lowered the temperature to 180 C and baked it for 15 minutes. It turned out VERY light and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
Everyone that has tried my cookies (this recipe) wanted the recipe. Wonderful cookies. I made them a little bigger than requested and cooked them a little longer. I have placed this recipe in my Favorite Recipe's Journal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I got rave reviews when I took these cookies to a party! Instead of using semi-sweet chocolate chips, I used milk chocolate chips. I also made my cookies bigger (about 4 inches wide when done) and baked them for 18 minutes. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States