Almond Chocolate Coconut Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This is a great recipe, though I made a couple of changes based purely on preference. I decreased the chocolate chips to 4 cups and increased the coconut and almonds to 2 1/2 cups each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickey, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Hankinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Great cookie I add 1tsp of coconut extract and double the amount of shredded coconut recieved many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Wonderful Cookies!!! I have made this recipe several times in my restaurant and they are always a hit. They do get hard after a few days but that's the only problem I've seen. I also cut down on the chocolate chips because there are too many per cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
These are very good. And the best thing is how soft they stay. I live in a dry climate, and baked goods dry out really quick. But these stayed soft for at least a week. Don't let the coconut put you off. My dh doesn't like it, but he still liked the cookies. This is much more like a fancy choc. chip cookie than like an Almond Joy candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Delicious, big hit with the kids at our church. Makes alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
These were enJOYEDed (recipe used to be called Almond Joy Cookies)!! Great chocolate chip cookies but to make them superb, you must take the reveiwers' advice: for half the recipe (40+ cookies), I used 3t coconut extract and 1t almond. Next time I will use more. Forget the vanilla! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I make more large cookies than the receipes said. i think it use too much chocolate chips. anyway, it is delicious and i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
The flavor was not what I expected. It really was more like a chocolate chip cookie, though decent flavored. As other reviewers noted, it would be alot of cookies, so I halved the recipe. I also changed the extract to half vanilla/ half coconut. I doubled the amount of coconut almost. However it still did not have more than a very faint coconut flavor at that. If I try this recipe again, I would suggest only using coconut extract and to cut back on the chocolate chips so that it won't overwhelm the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I've made these twice now, the second time for a potluck at work. This recipe made over 6 dozen cookies, and I only came home with about a dozen! I also had many requests for the recipe. Like the other reviewers, I used almond extract (3 teaspoons) and coconut extract (3 teaspoons). It really improved the flavor. I also cut back the chocolate chips to 3 cups and increased the coconut and chopped almonds to 3 cups, based on my own personal preferences. These cookies were excellent, but dried out quickly. I'll make smaller batches - but I will definitely be making more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This is great receipe. I cut chocolate chips just as other review said. I used 2cups of chocolate chips and 3 1/2 cups of coconut flakes. It is very good. All my co-worker and family member love this cookies. Thanks. Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States