Almond Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This salad is excellent! The dressing has zing to it - just the way I like it. I did not have chicken on hand so I used cutup turkey instead. Also used honey roasted sliced almonds instead of regular. Next time I may add water chestnut slices and some chow mein noodles. This may become a lunchtime staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Try Dijon mustard instead of powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I would make this with a little less cilantro, but that's just my taste. I liked the dressing, and will be serving it up with mixed salad leaves again in the future. Also I chose to poach the chicken breast in water with half an onion, some whole pepper corns and some cilantro. I then shredded it, and it turned out beautiful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very tasty and nutritious. It takes me a little longer than 30 minutes to make with all the chopping, but this recipe is well worth the effort. I followed the recipe exactly, but I think it would also be good using meat from a store bought rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Fantastic - loved it. My husband licked the bowl (I'm not joking!). Followed the recipe almost exactly, only used a bit less mustard per other reviewers' advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Not great. Dressing was good, but otherwise, pretty blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I am actually giving the dressing a 5 star rating. I had visited a local resturant and had a chicken salad served over romaine and lettuce. It was delicious but I noted their was something more to this than the chicken and greens. Something had been sprinkled over the entire salad and it tasted like teriyaki sauce. So I discovered this sauce and sprinkle it over all my chicken salads.I love the blend of flavors. Add grapes, sliced apples, and raisins to your chicken salad with this sauce over it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I completely agree with one of the earlier reviewers, and I wished I'd taken their advice! :) I prepared this for dinner recently and ate it right away. My husband and I did not care for it because the mustard taste is absolutely overwhelming - and we both like mustard just fine. I had prepared it as directed, except I reduced the sugar to 1 teaspoon, and served it over red leaf lettuce. We were not impressed at all, but I made enough for lunch the next day, so we gave it another shot. Well, after it sat overnight, the mustard flavor became much more muted, and the salad was delicious! I was ready to write it off the night before, that's how much we didn't like it. My advice - make this salad BUT don't eat it until the next day!! Sounds crazy I know but it is a really good salad once the flavors meld a bit. If you do eat it right away, at least give it another shot the next day - you'll be surprised! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This was a yummy salad. The cilantro really added to it. We ate it on sandwich bread the first night, but loved it leftover wrapped in a flour tortilla with a bit of teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Photo by healthnut
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This is a wonderful crunchy chicken salad! The ingredients are very flexible. I add waterchestnuts and served these on hoagie rolls with baked fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States