Almond Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good if you have no other food in the house. I adjusted like other reviewers suggested by adding half mayo and half sour cream, and used Honey Bunches of Oats on top. It was more like rice with a few pieces of chicken, and this recipe wouldn't have been enough food for 12 if we didn't have hors d'oeuvres and a first course. It was okay, but I won't be making it again. And, the recipe says to top with crumbs and tablespoons of butter, but I think it may have worked better if the crumbs were combined with melted butter in a pot and then poured on top of the casserole as I do with another casserole that I make quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is absolutely delicious!!!!! My whole family loved it. The only change I made was to add a can of water chestnuts. Will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
So good! I also added a touch of sour cream, used 2 cans of soup and used ritz on top. I also used two bags of wild rice mix for my rice. It added a little color and flavor. We just prefer the wild rice mix in our house. All in all the concept of this recipe is wonderful. I am adding it to my casserole list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
It was just ok, I added curry powder and tried to save it, but it was bland. I made the recipe for the Hot Chicken Salad and it was similar, but didn't have the rice in, you serve it over rice, and It was soooo good, I almost ate it all before I put in the the oven. Try that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Pleasantly surprised family loved this recipe and gobbled it all down. Did as others suggested with 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayonnaise plus used 1 1/2 cans cream of chicken soup. I also used honey bunches of oats with almonds but in small portion so not to make it too sweet. For seasoning I used Emeril's Essence at 1 - 1 1/2 tsp. Sprinkle cheese on top and back! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Palestine, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I love this recipe, it is very simple & everyone loves it. Even though my hubby isn't a fan of almonds. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiracleMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Really good! I agree with BeccaP's changes. I also swapped the cup of mayo for a 1/2 cup of light mayo and 1/2 cup of light sour cream. I also added the extra can of cream of chicken soup. It wouldn't have been nearly as creamy as it was if I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
this was a really great casserole, especially with a few minor changes that i made to the original recipe. for the mayo, i used a 1/2 cup of light mayo and a 1/2 cup of light sour cream, added an extra can of cream of chicken soup, and instead of cornflakes used crushed club crackers on top. i love the crunch that the almonds added - makes it different from your everyday chicken casserole. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Wow, loved-loved-loved this! I did change a few things to lighten it up a bit (non-fat cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken; low-fat mayo; Pam spray instead of butter to saute and on topping).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeFitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I made this recipe as written except I added fresh mushrooms, used sour cream in place of the mayo and used Honey Bunches of Oats with almonds as suggested by other reviewers. The casserole was fast and easy to prepare. Would recommend using the cornflakes,the Honey Bunches of Oats were to sweet for us. The casserole does need seasoning, as written it's quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States