Almond Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I have had this recipe for a long time...since it was first posted and it is soooooo yummy!!! I shared this with my family and they eat it all of the time, as do we. Thank you so much for sharing! I did, however, modify it by only using 1 Tbsp butter, and only enough cornflakes to cover the top. We seem to like it less crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
I cooked this dish for the first time and served it to 8 people at a luncheon recently. It was fabulous. Everyone wanted the recipe. I changed the recipe somewhat. I used 3/4 cup of butter instead of 1 cup, but I think it could be cut back even more. Also, I added more onion than called for and I sauteed the onion and celery a little to release their flavors before adding them to the chicken/rice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Tastes great and freezes well! After reading other reviews, I did cut back on the white pepper. I shredded my chicken the night before, which made it a quick meal to prepare after work. I've already added this to my family cookbook. Thanks, Behr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
We had a friend bring the fixins for this on a lake vacation with us. We served it tonight to 14 people. This casserole got rave reviews from all and will certainly be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
This is a family favorite! I cook the chicken & rice the night before and just throw it all together the next night for dinner. It is SOOOOO GOOD! Has lots of flavor. The only thing I leave out is the white pepper. It makes it a little too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was the first recipe I tried from Allrecipes.com and I definitely picked a winner. I made the 2 casseroles - one for a friend whose daughter was in the hospital, and one for me and my husband. It was excellent with a great variety of tastes and textures. The next time I will probably use less pepper, but everyone loved the original. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This was sooo yummy! I added a box of frozen chopped broccoli and 1/2 C. shredded cheddar cheese. I also used Rice Krispies for the cereal topping! I'll be making this a lot! I also used low fat sour cream (instead of yogurt), mayo, and cream of chicken soup. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
wow this was great, sounds like a lot of pepper but it really makes the meal, this one was a big 5 stars for me. Made enoughf for a ladies luncheon and leftovers for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I taste tested the prebaked casserole to see if it really needed all that salt. The flavor was yummy without it.I was excited to try something new, I knew we would enjoy it. The problem was when it came out of the oven, it had lost about 40 percent of its flavor. The rice apparently absorbs everything that made this yummy tasting before baking. It is a great casserole. I love the cruchiness of the waterchestnuts and the cornflakes. I will be making this again to see if I can solve the mystery of the missing flavor. Perhaps a little sherry or soy sauce? Oh, I also added 1t garlic powder and some frozen peas. It was still very good even with the flavors that disappeared while baking. Maybe it really needs the salt that I left out, but I felt the soup, butter and mayo added enough. Thanks for sharing,Behr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
My family and I really liked this recipe. I made it as directed, only changing the amount of white pepper to half. It's a great recipe to make for one dinner and freeze the rest for another. It's nice and crunchy and very tasty, and freezes very well. I have made it several times so far and it's always come out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States