Almond Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Enjoyable comfort food. It reminds me of a casserole my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
I read the reviews and made a couple changes to this recipe including lowering the salt and the lemon juice. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I really did something funny with this recipe, and it turned out great anyway! I tried to make this with the recipe for 'Mock Chicken', which is actually tofu that has been frozen and then quick thawed. Well, it still had the consistency of tofu, but didn't have much flavor so, the way I see it, it just added some extra nutrition and firmness to the casserole. I also used 1 chicken breast, which I cubed and put in the casserole mix raw. It turned out delicious!! The only change I would make next time is to saute the celery first so it's a little more cooked rather than crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
We made this recipe ahead of time and froze for future use. It still turned out well and I have a picky husband. I wasn't sure about the water chestnuts, but they added a crunch to the casserole that was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I added sauteed mushrooms and parsley for color. The good thing is that it could be made ahead of time. The bad thing is that it lacked flavor, much too bland for my taste. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Although this recipe was good it seemed to have a little too much butter and almonds. When I made it I used light mayo, non-fat yogurt and light butter, but it still had a heavy taste. Next time I might reduce the butter and the overload of almonds by 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This recipe is great! My roommate and I absolutely love it, and we can eat the leftovers for days (if they last that long.) I don't use white pepper and usually use canned chicken to speed it up a little, and it still tastes great! Also, I skip the butter cracker topping and just sprinkle with more almonds before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I read the reviews first, sauted onions,celery, & almonds, added 1/2 t. of white pepper. Still too much rice. Good flavor but the rice overwhelms the chicken. I didn't have mushroom soup so I substituted with cream of chicken. GardeningJan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Not impressive at all- the taste was bland and the casserole looked really unappealing - very white. It really seemed to be missing something. I wouldn't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Very good casserole dish! I followed the collective advice of other reviewers: added fresh sliced mushrooms and sautéed them with the celery and onions; toasted the sliced almonds; reduced the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons, reduced the pepper to 3/4 teaspoon, and reduced the melted butter to about 1/2 cup. I made everything but the topping the night before and then refrigerated it. Added cornflake topping before baking, and increased baking time to about 1 hour. Guests loved it, and had several requests for the recipe. Only additional suggestion I'd make would be to add a bit more flavoring, as the casserole is mild though with lots of pleasing texture and crunch. Maybe an Asian 5-spice?? I'll certainly be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States