Almond Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
I cooked this dish for the first time and served it to 8 people at a luncheon recently. It was fabulous. Everyone wanted the recipe. I changed the recipe somewhat. I used 3/4 cup of butter instead of 1 cup, but I think it could be cut back even more. Also, I added more onion than called for and I sauteed the onion and celery a little to release their flavors before adding them to the chicken/rice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I taste tested the prebaked casserole to see if it really needed all that salt. The flavor was yummy without it.I was excited to try something new, I knew we would enjoy it. The problem was when it came out of the oven, it had lost about 40 percent of its flavor. The rice apparently absorbs everything that made this yummy tasting before baking. It is a great casserole. I love the cruchiness of the waterchestnuts and the cornflakes. I will be making this again to see if I can solve the mystery of the missing flavor. Perhaps a little sherry or soy sauce? Oh, I also added 1t garlic powder and some frozen peas. It was still very good even with the flavors that disappeared while baking. Maybe it really needs the salt that I left out, but I felt the soup, butter and mayo added enough. Thanks for sharing,Behr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
My family and I really liked this recipe. I made it as directed, only changing the amount of white pepper to half. It's a great recipe to make for one dinner and freeze the rest for another. It's nice and crunchy and very tasty, and freezes very well. I have made it several times so far and it's always come out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
I liked this but reduced the fat quite a bit - use lowfat soup (any cream of anything flavor) and lowfat mayonnaise and just enough butter to moisten the cornflakes. I also finely crushed the cornflakes. Great recipe when you are helping out a hurting or sick person's family...you make one dish for your own family and one for theirs. Or freeze one for those frantic days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I halved this recipe but used whole cans of mushroom soup and water chestnuts. I didn't measure the other ingredients, but just used what looked good to me and it came out very well. I also used hickory smoked almonds because that is what I had and I wanted to use them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
This is a family favorite! I cook the chicken & rice the night before and just throw it all together the next night for dinner. It is SOOOOO GOOD! Has lots of flavor. The only thing I leave out is the white pepper. It makes it a little too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Make sure you let it firm up for awhile before you serve it. Otherwise, it's quite runny. I used cream of chicken soup instead mushroom, and water instead of broth, and it still turned out very good. It's packed with texture - a real adventure for your mouth! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
My husband and I loved this reciped, my girls are very picky so they wouldn't touch it. I did make some changes, I used two cans of cream of mushroom soup, left out the water chestnuts. I used more onions and celery and sauteed them in a little bit of butter before adding. I do think it would be to dry without the extra can of soup. Also I only used one teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This was "OK" --not good enough for all of the work involved--I boiled up some chicken breasts with salt and bay leaves--deboned and cubed them, and cooked up the rice. I then followed the recipe as written with the minor exception of using light mayonaise--the cornflakes and almond topping were definetely the best part(WAY too much butter though, I'd cut that in half), but the rest of it was just a chicken in a cream sauce nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Though there are just two of us at home, I made this huge recipe for my husband and myself. It's wonderful! We both had seconds tonight, and will have some for lunch tomorrow. I can't wait to bring this to a potluck! I will keep this recipe and share it with friends! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States