Almond Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This recipe turned out pretty well. I used reduced fat mayo, yogurt, and mushroom soup to cut back on fat. It had a nice crunch to it and was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This was "OK" --not good enough for all of the work involved--I boiled up some chicken breasts with salt and bay leaves--deboned and cubed them, and cooked up the rice. I then followed the recipe as written with the minor exception of using light mayonaise--the cornflakes and almond topping were definetely the best part(WAY too much butter though, I'd cut that in half), but the rest of it was just a chicken in a cream sauce nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Good casserole. I added worsterchire, a dash of seasoning salt, and used crushed Ritz instead of the corn flakes and sour cream instead of yogurt. I left out water chesnuts and chicken broth. You can make it the night before and just bake the next day. A staple meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Absolutely the best casserole I have ever made. It's time consuming, but well worth it! I have made this casserole for many of my friends and family members and have been asked for the recipe every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMAREK50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This is a great recipe. Our favorite version is to add a can of french cut green beans and then substitute french fried onions for the corn flakes and butter. The recipe has lots of crunch to it and reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I took the advice of others and sauted celery and onion. I also added a can of mushrooms. I added frozen peas for color and nutritional value. Next time I will cut the white pepper in half, as I found it too hot for our taste. A good recipe and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This is my husband's favorite recipe! I agree with the other posts - you can cut way back on the butter, save some fat grams & be just fine. I also microwave the celery in the chicken broth to soften them up just a bit. I'm amazed at the posts that say it lacks flavor. We find that the white pepper really adds a zip to it! I've also found that you can substitute cream of celery or cream of chicken for the cream of mushroom & it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This was okay but a lot of work and not a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Excellent recipe in general but next time I will reduce the amount of rice as others suggested and the amount of cornflakes and butter was WAY too much. Half the amount of each would be about right. I have also made this with turkey and used mushrooms instead of celery and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I liked this. I used cream of chicken and mushroom soup, and unfortunately didn't have any water chestnuts because that would have added another dimension. I found the cornflake and almond topping really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States