Almond Buttercrunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
The staff at Allrecipes.com has modified the instructions for this recipe to cook the mixture until it reaches hard crack stage. We believe this modification will address the problems some users have experienced with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
I made this recipe after allrecipie had updated the instructions... It turned out great, yum yum... perfect to make as candy gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I really love this recipe. I knew the recipe before they put it up, so I've been using the recipe for bake sales for years! People love it and I'm famous for making it when company comes over. I really reccomend this. I prefer to use packaged slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This is awesome!! What a great Christmas present for the neighbors and Sunday School teachers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Big hit at a church function. I did add a little water to the butter/sugar mixture. It wasn't melting properly. And I also used semi-sweet chocolate chips since that's what I had on hand. Everyone loved it-there was nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Good recipe I did had to adjust the recipe a bit, attempted three times third time is the charm, I added equal amount of butter and sugar two caps full of vanilla extract, cooked it on medium heat it took a while for it to form the balls, but they do form, I added crushed pecans. I chose not to add the chocolate chips good either way. I couldn’t stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl104

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These are so good. They taste like Dime bars you get in the UK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I, too, was surprised at the consistency when the mixture registered the proper temperature. I expected more melting, but realized that it is not intended to be a toffee or a brittle. I would recommend warming the cookie sheet before spreading the dough out, as it starts to set rather quickly. That helps. The rest is easy, but I found that after cooling, freezing helped everything somehow. It tasted good after it cooled, but after freezing, it really came together. Once you accept that it's not going to melt down into a liquid, it works quite well, and goes over well with the 'eaters.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
also great without the chocolate topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Great recipe, Angel. I used sliced toasted almonds. It changed the texture of the candy to allow for a crushing sensation rather than a crunchy one in the mouth. I did this for the people on my Christmas list that have dentures or trouble chewing. When the chocolate was arm, I pressed toasted crushed walnuts crumbs into it. Yummy!Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States