Almond Buttercrunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
The staff at Allrecipes.com has modified the instructions for this recipe to cook the mixture until it reaches hard crack stage. We believe this modification will address the problems some users have experienced with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Big hit at a church function. I did add a little water to the butter/sugar mixture. It wasn't melting properly. And I also used semi-sweet chocolate chips since that's what I had on hand. Everyone loved it-there was nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Great recipe, Angel. I used sliced toasted almonds. It changed the texture of the candy to allow for a crushing sensation rather than a crunchy one in the mouth. I did this for the people on my Christmas list that have dentures or trouble chewing. When the chocolate was arm, I pressed toasted crushed walnuts crumbs into it. Yummy!Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I could not get the glob of sugar up to temp on low and when I turned it up a little it turned very brown. I had to throw that batch out. I thought maybe it was a misprint on the butter needing 3/4 lb instead of 3/4 cups. This actually worked quite well. I did have to drain off a little butter so I am thinking 2-2 1/2 sticks would be perfect. I also continued stirring until it reach temp. It was a huge hit and it tasted great. I just wonder what angels recipe taste like? Mine is just like toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Good recipe I did had to adjust the recipe a bit, attempted three times third time is the charm, I added equal amount of butter and sugar two caps full of vanilla extract, cooked it on medium heat it took a while for it to form the balls, but they do form, I added crushed pecans. I chose not to add the chocolate chips good either way. I couldn’t stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl104

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I really love this recipe. I knew the recipe before they put it up, so I've been using the recipe for bake sales for years! People love it and I'm famous for making it when company comes over. I really reccomend this. I prefer to use packaged slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This is awesome!! What a great Christmas present for the neighbors and Sunday School teachers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
also great without the chocolate topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
The taste was great....the only thing was the texture....i dont know if something went wrong when it was cooking, but it felt like sand.....the sugar hadn't disolved or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
I made this recipe after allrecipie had updated the instructions... It turned out great, yum yum... perfect to make as candy gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States