Almond Buttercrunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
The staff at Allrecipes.com has modified the instructions for this recipe to cook the mixture until it reaches hard crack stage. We believe this modification will address the problems some users have experienced with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I wish I had read the other reviews before I made this. The recipe didn't work for me either. If this recipe appeals to you, try Saltine Toffee Cookies from this site instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
This recipe does not cook up the way Angel said it should. VERY UNSATISFIED RESULTS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I, too, was surprised at the consistency when the mixture registered the proper temperature. I expected more melting, but realized that it is not intended to be a toffee or a brittle. I would recommend warming the cookie sheet before spreading the dough out, as it starts to set rather quickly. That helps. The rest is easy, but I found that after cooling, freezing helped everything somehow. It tasted good after it cooled, but after freezing, it really came together. Once you accept that it's not going to melt down into a liquid, it works quite well, and goes over well with the 'eaters.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
My review is for the recipe as is. I had a very difficult time with this recipe. I had the same problem with the recipe as Diane. There is not enough liquid in this recipe. All the other buttercrunch recipes I have seen have equal amounts of butter and sugar and about 2 to 6 tablespoons of water and/or corn syrup. Something is missing from this recipe. If you choose to make it, you might want to use at least 1 3/4 cups butter (melted). Even though it is missing ingredients, it is a tasty recipe!!! My friend made it and hers turned out ok, but she did have to add some corn syrup. I added about 3 tablespoons of corn syrup and about 3 tablespoons of water. It never would do much. It turned out to be edible, but not the consistency it should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
This recipe was very unusual to make. The consistency was different than I had experienced before when making candy. I thought that it was a failure until I refrigerated it and it turned out quite well. My daughter loves it! Thanks, Angel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
There is something wrong with this recipe. I too got a big hunk of buttery sugar in my saucepan. I added some milk, which helped with the consistency, but then it didn't set up right and it has a gritty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I don't know what I did wrong (I did follow directions) but I got a glob of a mess that wouldn't really melt. The sugar didn't incorporate properly for some reason. I just wasted all that sugar, butter, and almonds, but most importantly my time. Not pleased with this recipe as good as it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States