Almond Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Use cocunut oil and no sugar! Have made this many times as it is a good basic recipe. Read other reviews about the olive oil though and decided to go for coconut oil instead. It comes out too dry so I add vegetable oil in the end, and a little cocoa powder. This way, no sugar/honey needed and it's perfectly creamy almond butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I'm rating this recipe as written. With my modifications, I think it's a 5 star recipe. I don't know if y'all realize, but adding the olive oil is completely unnecessary. If you keep processing the almonds past the ball stage (stopping periodically to scrape the sides of the bowl and break up the ball), the almonds release their oil and it becomes so smooth. No added oil necessary. I toasted the almonds first for 15 minutes in a 300 degree oven and then processed it. It can take 15-20 minutes of processing, but my cuisinart did it in 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Easy and it took less processing time than I expected. Added a little honey and a pinch of salt. Lots of "yums" all around the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I didn't use the olive oil at all. The key in making almond butter is to process it in the food processor for a long time - at least 10 minutes in total. I'd worked it a little bit, let it rest, and then work it some more so I didn't burn out the motor. For a long time it was like a ball as some described. Then almost instantaneously, the oils in the almonds came out, and I had a very smooth peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I tried this, but found more advice on another blog that explained with photos how long you have to grind the almonds before you get a true butter. If you stop as the recipe suggests here the mixture will be dry and somewhat bitter. If you go on another 5-8 minutes the almonds will warm a bit more and release much more oil. The whole thing becomes sweet and creamy and no additional oil is needed. Scrape the sides of the bowl every couple of minutes early on and then break up the big ball that forms a few times. Have patience you will be rewarded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I like my almond butter raw, so did not toast the nuts. After the 1 cup of nuts were pulverized, I added 1 Tbsp of sunflower oil, which does not have a the heavy flavor or bitterness of olive oil. Continued processing for 2 more minutes or just until it clung together to form a crumbly paste, and NOT INTO A BALL. If you let it go that long, it becomes very doughy. This way looks more like wet sand granules. It is still spreadable at this stage. If you like more oil, STIR IT IN BY HAND. Personally, I do not like a lot of oil because of the enormous calories, and when buying market products, even pour off the oily top; especially with peanut butter because they add so much. I stirred in some slivered almonds to make it crunchy. There is no bitterness and no added sugar or honey necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
First time making almond butter...will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Good recipe but it I strongly recommend you replace the olive oil with almond oil or a neutral tasting oil such as canola or vegetable. 1. No olive oil because it interferes with the almond taste which I suspect is the reason reviewers felt it needed honey. 2. Lightly toast the almonds and let them cool before you make the butter. 3. Save tons of money on almonds @ Sam's or Costco (3 pound bags) and store them in the freezer. 4. Plan on processing this in 2 (or more) steps with a cool down period in between where you shut off the engine so that you don't burn out your food processor. My Cuisinart is a work horse, but I still had to do that. 5. I will freeze my very big batch of this in 1 pint canning jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this today and will make it again and again. I added some honey to mine but without honey it's good too and sooooo much cheaper than buying it at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhusbandswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Easy great recipe. I added honey and salt to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond and Parsley Salsa Verde

See how to prepare a lively, super-versatile fresh salsa.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States