Almond Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This recipe worked out quite well. Toasted single layer of almonds in 300 degree oven for 20 minutes before placing in food processor. When processing, continued to add oil (may need more than recipe states) until reached desired consistency. Also added a touch of sea salt which enhanced the almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but my tip on making this is to add some honey if the end product is too "dry" and so not so spreadable. The honey makes the almond butter a little sweet and that much more yummier! A great, healthy alternative to peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was so simple! The hardest part was the clean-up. I added the olive oil until it started to get creamy then, added 2 Tbs. honey. I may never buy store bought nut butters again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rookiecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This recipe isn't written terribly clearly, but it does make good almond butter. Wait until the ball stage to add oil then KEEP PROCESSING until you get the consistency you want. The natural oils release as it is processed, and it takes a long time. It's the same for other nut butters, but almond takes longer. If you do add honey (which I prefer) wait to add it at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Great recipe to customize to your liking. I roasted the almonds in a 300 degree oven for 15 minutes and tossed about cup of flax seed on the almonds the last three minutes. Creamed the dickens out of the flax and almonds in the food processor with a tablespoon or so of honey, a pinch of sea salt and as much EVOO as I needed to get to the consistency I wanted....maybe 2 or 3 tablespoons. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Good recipe but it I strongly recommend you replace the olive oil with almond oil or a neutral tasting oil such as canola or vegetable. 1. No olive oil because it interferes with the almond taste which I suspect is the reason reviewers felt it needed honey. 2. Lightly toast the almonds and let them cool before you make the butter. 3. Save tons of money on almonds @ Sam's or Costco (3 pound bags) and store them in the freezer. 4. Plan on processing this in 2 (or more) steps with a cool down period in between where you shut off the engine so that you don't burn out your food processor. My Cuisinart is a work horse, but I still had to do that. 5. I will freeze my very big batch of this in 1 pint canning jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
this recipe is wonderful especially if your on a diet i cut up fruit and veggies and add humus on a plate using this almond butter as a healthy choice fruit dip thanks so much p.s I've added a little extra olive oil to make it more workable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
An excellent, healthy recipe. This was a perfect opportunity to break in my new Braun food processor. The taste is lovely. Not too creamy, and is a nice medium texture between creamy and crunchy peanut butter. The store I get my nuts from was out of plain toasted almonds, so I substituted them with lime-toasted almonds, and my olive oil was extra-virgin Spanish. I also added half a tsp of unrefined sugar. The butter is sweet, slightly crunchy, with a slight tangy lime hint. A lovely recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herr Strack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Great recipe! My niece has been telling me to try almond butter for a while now, and I am glad I did! I think it is a tad too oily, but I will just cut back on the olive oil next time! Great basic recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Add honey and it's 5 stars. Super easy. Wow, I was floored at how good it is. All natural also. No more junk PB for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States