Almond Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
I didn't really use shortening.. I just cut it out of the recipe and used whipping cream instead of milk.. it worked really good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I have been using Wilton's recipe for icing since I took a class on cake decorating. The base of this recipe is similar, but adds flavor. The butter makes it creamier and the almond adds flavor so it doesn't taste too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This is a really good icing!!! It is good on all kinds of cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Absolutely wonderful! Made d.shephard's "my favorite sugar cookies" and frosted with this frosting, have given this recipe along with the sugar cookies, for the 7th time now. This is a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is delicious, but do not expect it to harden on the cookies! It remains the consistency of a light fluffy cake icing. Colors well, and is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA  IN E TN
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Just like my mom use to make! She always baked with no recipe, so I never got this recipe! Thanks for sharing, it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
OMG - the best frosting and very easy to make. I could eat this with a spoon and not even worry about the cookie underneath!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I liked this recipe, I have used it several times. Although I made a few adjustments which came out way better. I used a stick of butter and a stick of criso butter flavored shortening.You would wanna beat the butter and shortening for at least 20 min. seems long but it's totally worth it. You won't taste that butter after taste! That's the main key. I used 8 cups of powdered sugar to make it thick but added more almond extract and a tsp. of vanilla extract so it wont be to sweet and lose itself in the sugar and focus on the main purpose of ALMOND BUTTER ICING!!!!! (Remember Beat the butter and shortening for 20 mins. it will taste way better! and if it's to thick for your taste and milk!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~ Hadassah ~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
i changed this recipe to fit what i had on hand, i can't comment on the original (but it sounds good!)... i used 1/2c butter, 1/2pkg cream cheese, 1/2 tsp almond, 1 tsp vanilla bean extract. mix together in blender (about 3c). add sugar, 1/2 cup at a time until you get the right consistency. i tried to add milk, but it gets grainy. sweet, with a mild almond flavor. sooo tasty! great on cake-like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Just what I was looking for. Easy, with just enough flavor. I used it to frost a white cake for a birthday party. It made plenty for a two layer cake, and extra to dye for contrast piping. It would be even better for decorating if you sub half the shortening for butter. I didn't add as much extract to it, almond extract tends to overpower things really easily, so I just added to taste, about 3/4 tsp. I have a new go-to cake frosting. I can't imagine using this for cookies, though, it would smear badly. Thanks DeDe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States