Almond Bear Claws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Loved this recipe. I used frozen puff pastry(where you find the frozen pie pastry) It comes in sheets already rolled out, which makes it fast and easy. After baking, I brushed a glaze made with icing sugar/milk and almond flavoring right over the sliced almonds. It was just what they needed for sweetness. My coworkers were calling me at home for the recipe weeks after! An impressive EASY treat. 5+++ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Pretty good... I would recommend NOT putting sliced almonds on top because they burn in the oven. A sugary glaze would be a million times better. Really good with coffee. They don't keep really well though. Next time I'd half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SoozMS
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I definitely recommend making your own puff pastry for this one. I used a recipe I found on Google called "Quick Puff Pastry." After I ran out of my homemade dough, I used up some store bought pastry I had in the freezer and those claws didn't come out nearly as beautiful or delicious. The other thing I would change next time is adding more egg and sugar to the filling. I found it too think and not quite sweet enough. But still, OH SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
My rating is mostly for the filling of these almond wonders! I love how the almond flavor is intensified with the Amaretto and almond flavoring. I used my mouli to grind the almonds--the fine grate for half and the medium grate for the rest. It turned out perfect. I made these as directed, and I would agree that the almonds on top burned. I may next time just skip the egg wash on the top and go with a very light powdered sugar/water drizzle. These are time intensive, but what a feeling of satisfaction at the spectacular end product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very time consumning but the end result is wonderful once u have time on your hands try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
these were great! i made them preety small so i got about 32 bear claws. thanks for the recipe, it wasreally easy to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
The filling was superb. That is all I needed to use in another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These were delicious! I made the blitz puff pastry and it got 10 bear claws (I may have rolled the dough too thick). The filling makes enough to fill at least another batch of puff pastry. I made it a few days in advance and kept it in the refrigerator, but it lost its flavor. Next time I will make the filling right before baking the pastries. It was also very pasty, so I will leave out one egg white next time I make the filling. The bear claws definitely need the egg wash to come out shiny. I put sliced almonds on top before baking, and only one really browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CLL
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Made it with two filling recipes, one from this recipe, one from a pignoli recipe. People like the filling from this recipe better because it has better almond flavor. However, it is more labor intensive. My little coffee grinder and I worked very hard to get that 2 3/4 Cups of ground almond out. To avoid burning almonds slices on the top, I used a pan toasting those slices. After the bear claws are done, I put on the sugar icing and toasted almond slices on each claw and return them to the oven for less than a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I halved the recipe for the filling (to 12 servings) because I was using Bob's Red Mill almond meal and didn't have the full amount required. I also only had one sheet of puff pastry (the kind that comes in a box of two sheets, frozen). So... I rolled the pastry a bit and cut it 9 equal squares. I piped the filling in the middle of each square, brushed with the egg wash, sealed cut the 4 slits and then placed each bear claw on the parchment lined baking sheet spreading the "toes" a little in the process. I brushed it again with egg wash and proceeded to put sliced almonds on some of the pastries, leaving the rest plain. I wanted to see what was better and I have to say that either way worked for me. Yes, the almonds brown but mine didn't burn. However, if you like you can also add almonds later when the pastries are cooled IF you make an icing drizzle to put on top of them. The almonds will stick to the drizzle. I chose to do that instead of the powdered sugar because I don't like the mess powdered sugar makes when you are eating it. My drizzle was just powdered sugar, amaretto liquor and a little water. When it was the perfect consistency I drizzled it on top of the pastries and then sprinkled almonds on those that didn't have any. I have plenty of leftover filling but I will save it in the freezer like the recipe author recommended, for a later use. I will be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States