Almond Bear Claws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
They take some time, but well worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
next time i will use the pastry recipe recommended at the bottom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
these were great! i made them preety small so i got about 32 bear claws. thanks for the recipe, it wasreally easy to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
The filling was superb. That is all I needed to use in another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by SoozMS
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I definitely recommend making your own puff pastry for this one. I used a recipe I found on Google called "Quick Puff Pastry." After I ran out of my homemade dough, I used up some store bought pastry I had in the freezer and those claws didn't come out nearly as beautiful or delicious. The other thing I would change next time is adding more egg and sugar to the filling. I found it too think and not quite sweet enough. But still, OH SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
My rating is mostly for the filling of these almond wonders! I love how the almond flavor is intensified with the Amaretto and almond flavoring. I used my mouli to grind the almonds--the fine grate for half and the medium grate for the rest. It turned out perfect. I made these as directed, and I would agree that the almonds on top burned. I may next time just skip the egg wash on the top and go with a very light powdered sugar/water drizzle. These are time intensive, but what a feeling of satisfaction at the spectacular end product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Loved this recipe. I used frozen puff pastry(where you find the frozen pie pastry) It comes in sheets already rolled out, which makes it fast and easy. After baking, I brushed a glaze made with icing sugar/milk and almond flavoring right over the sliced almonds. It was just what they needed for sweetness. My coworkers were calling me at home for the recipe weeks after! An impressive EASY treat. 5+++ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Pretty good... I would recommend NOT putting sliced almonds on top because they burn in the oven. A sugary glaze would be a million times better. Really good with coffee. They don't keep really well though. Next time I'd half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very time consumning but the end result is wonderful once u have time on your hands try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States