Almond Bear Claws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
It was relatively fast and easy for me to make. I had almond flour (bob's) and I just made my own almond paste (1-1 ratio almond flour and powdered sugar, a little bit of melted butter and a bit of egg whites, blend until thick dough paste) easy peasy! I only made what I needed and added more almond flour as per directions. Used store-bought puff pastry and omitted liquer. I agree it wasn't sweet enough to be a bear claw (and I don't like sweets) and the paste was too thick. Add more egg whites to a consistency you'll like (It doesn't really melt in the pastry while baking in the oven). I always keep a carton of egg whites because it's faster, easier, and you can use it for macarons, swiss meringue BC, foamy cocktails... ETC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleBruce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I prefer to make a recipe exactly as written the first time. This was probably the most difficult, expensive snack I have ever made. The almond paste would not break down but jumped through the mixer blades in huge clumps. I decided to go ahead to the next step hoping the ground almonds and sugar would help to break down the paste. Wrong. I finally dug in with my hands and crumbled it manually. When it came time to spread using the pastry bag I didn't have the strength to do more than a couple so I enlist hubby. Even he had to take a break. On the last dozen I finally grabbed a handful and manually rolled the almond filling and finished them off that way. Today I had one and I guarantee that for all the work and cost I won't be making these again. They weren't good enough to overcome the hours spent making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ev's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
To IrishFancy, No, almond paste and marzipan are not the same thing and you cannot substitute one for the other. Marzipan has sugar and other ingredients added to it. You should be able to find almond paste in the baking aisle of your grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Delicious recipe! I drizzled glaze on the baked bear claws. Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
A little suggestion -- If you do not stock a bottle of Amaretto in your bar or pantry, but a "nip," one o those little bottles behind the counter at the liquor store. If you make your own puff pastry, reserve the two teaspoons called for in the recipe, and use the rest to replace some of the liquid in the dough recipe for a little added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLL
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Made it with two filling recipes, one from this recipe, one from a pignoli recipe. People like the filling from this recipe better because it has better almond flavor. However, it is more labor intensive. My little coffee grinder and I worked very hard to get that 2 3/4 Cups of ground almond out. To avoid burning almonds slices on the top, I used a pan toasting those slices. After the bear claws are done, I put on the sugar icing and toasted almond slices on each claw and return them to the oven for less than a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I halved the recipe for the filling (to 12 servings) because I was using Bob's Red Mill almond meal and didn't have the full amount required. I also only had one sheet of puff pastry (the kind that comes in a box of two sheets, frozen). So... I rolled the pastry a bit and cut it 9 equal squares. I piped the filling in the middle of each square, brushed with the egg wash, sealed cut the 4 slits and then placed each bear claw on the parchment lined baking sheet spreading the "toes" a little in the process. I brushed it again with egg wash and proceeded to put sliced almonds on some of the pastries, leaving the rest plain. I wanted to see what was better and I have to say that either way worked for me. Yes, the almonds brown but mine didn't burn. However, if you like you can also add almonds later when the pastries are cooled IF you make an icing drizzle to put on top of them. The almonds will stick to the drizzle. I chose to do that instead of the powdered sugar because I don't like the mess powdered sugar makes when you are eating it. My drizzle was just powdered sugar, amaretto liquor and a little water. When it was the perfect consistency I drizzled it on top of the pastries and then sprinkled almonds on those that didn't have any. I have plenty of leftover filling but I will save it in the freezer like the recipe author recommended, for a later use. I will be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made these as written and really liked them. I did add a glaze to the top made with powdered sugar,amaretto liquor, and a few drops of milk. YUM! I didn't put the almonds on top before cooking since some said they burned and just added after the glaze was drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe. Easy to make. Very light with great taste. My husband loved them. I will definitely make these again (and again). They turned out picture perfect. Even had to share with my neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These were delicious! I made the blitz puff pastry and it got 10 bear claws (I may have rolled the dough too thick). The filling makes enough to fill at least another batch of puff pastry. I made it a few days in advance and kept it in the refrigerator, but it lost its flavor. Next time I will make the filling right before baking the pastries. It was also very pasty, so I will leave out one egg white next time I make the filling. The bear claws definitely need the egg wash to come out shiny. I put sliced almonds on top before baking, and only one really browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States