Almond Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I have made this recipe with brown sugar and regular sugar - both versions are excellent. I prefer the white sugar version. Just remember if you do use the white sugar, don't add vanilla. My kids LOVE this recipe. On the white sugar version, use 2 sticks of butter melted with 1/2 cup white sugar. More than sweet enough and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
very good but i recommend to make a little more of the butter mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were a hit at our party. I tried chocolate on just a few of them and I definitely liked it. I will put chocolate on all of them the next time i make them. So simple and pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I didn't have any almonds so I used cashew chunks instead. I expected the bars to taste more like toffee, but it's probably the almonds that give it the toffee-like taste. I would use less butter too, they are a bit oily. Other than that though, super easy and quick recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangemm.13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Delicious. Kinda like a praline. I reduced the sugar and the butter, still great and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Well, apparently I am worse than a caveman. *sigh* I don't know where I went wrong. Maybe because I cut it in half to fit in a 8x8 pan?? It seemed to watery to put on top of the crackers, it just made them soggy. I'm afraid to try it again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I've made these every year as christmas gifts for the last 5 years. Everyone raves about them. I use cinnamon graham crackers and add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the butter mix while baking. I also use the high butter fat European butter. It gives them a richer,fuller taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
So simple even a caveman could do it, Really! :) These were the most popular snack at a recent get together. Super quick from start to finish, and you probably have all the ingredients on hand already. If you love the taste of toffee, you'll love these - YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
these are great and pretty easy to make. Not by any means healthy though. I really couldn't bring myself to use more than 1 stick (1/2 cup) of butter and it turned out really well. This is really sweet though and it's a good thing to cut into really really small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This was one of the easiest recipes I have ever made. I don't like to bake and this turned out so simple and successful. I was so pleased.I used a bag of silvered almonds that I bought and had in the house. I thought it tasted like a toffee bar. It was a pleasure to have something turn out so good and no hassle. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States