Almond Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Just made this recipe and it was a big hit at the party I went to. I used raspberry as the jam and added extra slivered almonds and coconuts. I also sprinkled coconuts on top to give it that golden. Once I finished baking the dish and cooling it off, I drizzled some carmel on top. I wasn't able to get almond extract, so I used amaretto and cooked it in a pan for a minute or two to burn off some of the alcohol off, except I think you really need to add more than 1/4 tsp to give it that almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
These were very easy to make and very delicious too!! I made them to go on my holiday plate of goodies to give out. Everyone was very impressed and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
very rich and yummy! I doubled the recipe and baked in a 15X10. I used seedless red raspberry jam. Thanks Carol! Sorry I just realized I rated the wrong recipe! I have not tried this I should have rated berry almond bars. I will try this one soon though. Sorry for the confusion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
These bars are very unusual, but very good. I used walnuts since I didn't have almonds, but the nuts aren't the key ingredient, as the name suggests. The jelly you choose is probably going to be the most pronounced flavor, so pick something you really like! I used seeless red raspberry, and that seemed to go well with the coconut flavor. Very unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
These came out wonderful and even my 13 year old son thought they were easy to make (never too young to teach males how to cook!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
Yummy! Everybody loved them at the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
Very delicious and everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
go easy on the almond, or it's blinding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I was looking for a recipe that my mom used to make during our childhood, that sounded very much like this one, with the almonds, jam and meringue layer. I was so looking forward to making it, but unfortunately, it was not that good. Does not taste much like almonds, the crust was wayy to thick for one tray, I had to divide it into an 8X8 pyrex pan and a pie plate. Did the same with the meringue filling, because when it's too thick, it stays creamy inside, and often could taste very eggy. I made sure the meringue dried out in the oven, to make sure no eggy taste is left in it. Anyway, I am so sorry to say, it was not a hit in my family. My dad and husband thought they tasted good, but all other members of the family didn't care for it. I often make meringue cookies, but this tastes nothing like them. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States