Almond, Apple Cinnamon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I was worried that these might be dry, so I used almost a full cup of yogurt and doubled the milk. I also added 1 tsp. of cinnamon powder to the dry ingredients. I used only 1 tsp. of almond extract. Because I added more wet ingredients, the batter was very sticky, so I dropped the batter onto the cookie sheet in 12 equal portions and topped it with cinnamon sugar and chopped walnuts (didn't have any almonds).They were perfect! Light, moist and flavorful! Just what I wanted! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My boss mmade these scones and brought them to work; they were wonderful, even at room temperature. She said she had one warm from the oven the night before with a cup of Chai, and it was fantastic. These were very tender and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I love the creamy taste of these. I did substitiute vanilla yogurt for the plain as it is what I had on hand. Next time I make them I think I may put some slivered almonds on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I substituted some of the ingredients with ingredients that I had on hand such as table spread instead of shortening, apricot yogurt instead of plain, soy milk for milk, vanilla extract for almond and used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1cup of normal all purpose flour. Turned out great anyway! Definitely a favorite at my hostel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Excellent! I added a bit more yogurt and 1 peach and a handful of fresh saskatoons in addition to the 2 apples. They turned out light and fluffy. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These turned out very well for me. I took the advice of another review and used a little more yogurt. My family was very pleased with the outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I am quite the rookie baker, but these turned out GREAT. i took the advice to add more yogurt, so about a cup instead of half. little bit more milk. 2 fairly large apples, the more the better for me anyways. and i didnt have almond extract so i used vanilla extract, but still used crushed almonds for the topping. Also added some cinnamon powder to the dry mix. They turned out very moist and sooo good. even my picky little 2 year old loves them! Thank you for the recipe and advice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were good! I used butter instead of shortening and three small Gravenstein apples. I didn't have plain yogurt so I used vanilla yogurt, which I increased to 3/4 cup. I also didn't have sliced almonds for the topping. They turned out well even with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Taste of apple was weak. Used extra butter and more cinnamon and used toasted almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
they just came out of the oven. I added an extra tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of cinnammon and greek yogurt with a little half and half and used butter instead of shortening -- then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar before baking. I ommited the almonds except for the extract. It came out okay and the apples with the almond extract and cinnamon is a nice combination. They do not really look very attractive but the taste is fine. I made them as drop scones. Next time I may add more flour and make them into biscuits, but drop scones have more moisture which is nice. I would recommend the recipe when you are in the mood to make something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbreadmachine
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States