Almond, Apple Cinnamon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using half whole wheat flour. These scones tasted great for breakfast and were a perfect way to use the bounty of apples we have from our small orchard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I followed this recipe to the "T" -- it was okay, but I won't make it again. In my opinion, it didn't show off the apples to their best. If you do make it, these scones are best eaten warm -- you'll find their flavor greatly improved by a few seconds in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My boss mmade these scones and brought them to work; they were wonderful, even at room temperature. She said she had one warm from the oven the night before with a cup of Chai, and it was fantastic. These were very tender and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
True to the nature of scones, these scones were dense and a bit dry after the first day. I found they could use a bit more flavor, and plan to use more vanilla sugar and cinnamon next time. I also grated the apples into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I was worried that these might be dry, so I used almost a full cup of yogurt and doubled the milk. I also added 1 tsp. of cinnamon powder to the dry ingredients. I used only 1 tsp. of almond extract. Because I added more wet ingredients, the batter was very sticky, so I dropped the batter onto the cookie sheet in 12 equal portions and topped it with cinnamon sugar and chopped walnuts (didn't have any almonds).They were perfect! Light, moist and flavorful! Just what I wanted! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I love the creamy taste of these. I did substitiute vanilla yogurt for the plain as it is what I had on hand. Next time I make them I think I may put some slivered almonds on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I substituted some of the ingredients with ingredients that I had on hand such as table spread instead of shortening, apricot yogurt instead of plain, soy milk for milk, vanilla extract for almond and used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1cup of normal all purpose flour. Turned out great anyway! Definitely a favorite at my hostel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Excellent! I added a bit more yogurt and 1 peach and a handful of fresh saskatoons in addition to the 2 apples. They turned out light and fluffy. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were good! I used butter instead of shortening and three small Gravenstein apples. I didn't have plain yogurt so I used vanilla yogurt, which I increased to 3/4 cup. I also didn't have sliced almonds for the topping. They turned out well even with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These turned out very well for me. I took the advice of another review and used a little more yogurt. My family was very pleased with the outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States