Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is an awesome frosting recipe for spice cakes! I used it on a banana spice cake also found on this site. I used an 8 oz block of cream cheese, and the result was a rich, creamy, slightly spiced frosting. Mmmm... I didn't even let my kids lick the bowl this time. It was MINE. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Minerva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Fantastic!! So wonderful on spice cake or carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Wonderful and easy frosting! Yes, one 8 oz. package of cream cheese. I didn't have allspice so I used some pupmpkin pie spice I had. Allspice is a mixture of cinnamon, clove, and nutmeg so I think you could add a little of each depending on your taste also. I didn't have any powdered sugar on hand either so I just took regular sugar and placed in my Vitamix, added 1 T. of corn starch and blended into powder. It turned out perfect! I used only 3 cups of the sugar and it was just right. I also did not need to use any milk. When chilled, it does harden, just take out a few minutes before you want to use it and whip it with a fork and it will be spreadable again. I keep it in a bowl in the fridge rather than frosting a whole cake or loaf...that way everyone can add as much as they like. I'll be making this again to use with many other deserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Wanted to modify this recipe to make it more of a dip --- so a little lighter, a little less intense. I used 8 oz cream cheese, cut out the butter, easily halved the sugar. Added cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
So great you'll want to eat it with a spoon instead of frosting a cake. Went great with the Spanish Bar Cake on this site. Also great as a dip for Molasses Cookies - could add a little extra powdered sugar and use as an icing for cookies. Used 8 oz. cream cheese and about 3 cups powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker Beth
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This frosting is so delicious and is perfect paired with any kind of spice cake, or as I used it, to frost Hummingbird Cake II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Tasty recipe. I used this on Spiced Banana Cake and it was very good. My only complaint is that it was a bit too runny, but once you refrigerated it, it hardend up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Good, yet overpowering on my choco cake. I'll use it with a Carrot Cake next time. I used an 8 oz brick of cream cheese, less powdered sugar & no milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This went absolutely perfect with the Carrot Cake III recipe from this site. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This frosting was really good. The only thing I changed was I halved the sugar (or else it's too sweet for me) and I used 1/4 tsp pumkin pie spice, 1/4 tsp apple pie spice, and 1/4 tsp allspice and that made it really tasty. I used it on the Fourteen Carat Cake from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States