Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Made this for a Gingerbread cake. Only made a half batch, had to add an extra tablespoon of milk though, was thick and clumpy. Also used pumpkin pie spice instead of allspice since that's what I had. Turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is very good. I wasn't paying attention and put in 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of allspice. I was nervous that I had ruined it but it is delicious. I also used 8oz of cream cheese as another user suggested. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Made this with some Beer Spice cupcakes and they went perfect together. Very delicious and easy to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
With some modification, this frosting is great. I agree with other reviewers that you need a whole 8 oz block of cream cheese. I tried the frosting after using 3 oz and it was WAY too sweet (at least for my taste). The extra 5 oz made it wonderful. I also added 1/4 teaspoon more allspice and it still wasn't overpowering. I think I found my go-to cream cheese frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was a great recipe I used on a carrot cake. I more than tripled the allspice in mine and the flavors meld together wonderfully. I will use this again, especially on a carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
You have to play around with the liquids a bit but that's true of ALL frostings. For flavor this is exceptional -- I used lemon juice in place of milk as I do in all cream cheese frostings, to preserve the tang of the cream cheese. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
WAY TOO MUCH SUGAR! All I tasted was sugar, and I used 8 oz. of cream cheese. Next time I will try it with half the sugar if not less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I used 8 oz. cream cheese and only 3 cups confectioners' sugar. I found that I didn't need to add more than 1T of milk. I had enough for all 2 dozen cupcakes. Delicious, spiced just right and perfect! The consistency was perfect for piping onto cupcakes. I piped them onto "Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes," also from this site. The combination of the cream cheese and pumpkin ginger cupcakes are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is a delicious recipe - perfect for the pumpkin muffins I just made! The only thing I would do differently is refrigerate the icing for an hour before spreading it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I didn't use the milk because the frosting was already thin ... I used all the 4 cups of powdered sugar and then put it in the fridge to solidify a bit. The taste was great. I did add 6 oz of cream cheese because it tasted a little like buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States