Allison's Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Having never cooked trout before, I searched through the recipes and found Allison's Trout. So glad I did! I was only cooking two fillets, so I reduced the amounts and made a few changes to incorporate the ingredients I had. No lemons, so I substituted orange/pineapple juice. I also thinly sliced a shallot which I cooked briefly in the butter before adding the mushrooms and juice. I served this with some mashed potatoes and steamed green beans and decided this meal was a keeper. Might try adding some thai chili for heat the next time, but this is very, very good as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Fantastic dish. I used OJ instead of lemon juice, and added Ro-Tel diced tomatoes for a little heat. Served over Rice-a-Roni, substituting OJ for 1/4 of water requirement. My husband said it was the best dinner he's ever he'd (and we've been married 10 years)! Thank you, Prettypie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Love this recipe, my husband has requested it every week for the past month it is melt in your mouth delicious, had my dad for dinner last week he loved it so much he went home and made it for himself the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Loved it! I followed the directions except I didn't have Sherry Wine, I used a nice Petit Verdot and it turned out fantastic. I've made this now at least four times and every single time the family loves it. This is by far and away one of my favorite fish recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Excellent. Works well with Steelhead, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
It was simple and wonderful. I used pinot grigio as I did not have sherry. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I thought this was a wonderful dish - I used canned mushrooms since I didn't have fresh, but fresh would have been much better. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Tried it tonight and everyone, young and old, liked it. Just happened to have picked up trout instead of salmon so I was on here looking for a quick recipe. I was not disappointed! I had all the ingredients and now I have a new fish!!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Awesome!! Added 1/2 an onion sliced and a minced clove of garlic... We also made a cream sauce with the reduction after removing the fish from the oven.... served with butternut squash cakes with fresh rosemary... they went together wonderfully!... will definitely make again... maybe spice up the squash cakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Loved it! I didn't put in as much lemon juice since I'm on a huge fan of lemon flavored fish. I also added some onions but otherwise I followed the recipe. I'm sure I will make this again soon. Next time I'll probably try it on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States