Allison's Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This pasta salad is good, but I didn't care much for the ham. The dressing is good, very similar to the dressing I make for potato salad. I will make this again, only next time I might use leftover turkey instead of the ham and dried cranberries in place of the grapes. I also think it would be better with shredded cheese instead of diced. It does taste better after being refrigerated overnight. Next time I will plan ahead and make it the day before I want to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I have to say, I am REALLY surprised at all the positive reviews. I had to throw this away, and it was a big bummer because you have to buy and use a lot of stuff in it. The vinegar was overwhelming, it just tasted BAD. I tried to make sure I got a bite with everything and it still was just...bad. I followed the recipe exactly...definetly not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I had to make a couple of changes. My son hates mayo so I used salad dressing instead. I also did not have any dijon mustard on hand. I replaced that with hot mustard. Doubled sauce and used a 12 oz box of penne (not sure what that measures out to cup wise) and tossed in some croutons. I didn't have a drop of sauce left over. Didn't have any pasta left over either after hubby had seconds! Perfect summertime recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was just okay. I followed the recipe as written, and ended up with a lot of extra sauce, I am glad that I did not double it. I found that the sauce tasted too much like mayo and it just did nothing for me. My boyfriend liked this okay, but I won't be making it again. This was too rich for a pasta salad it seemed like. I like my pasta salad refreshing and light, and this was neither of those things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I made this for a luncheon and it was just okay. Way too much cheese and dressing and the dressing needs a kick. Maybe I missed something, but this one won't be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This recipe is excellent! My family raved about it the whole time we were eating it. It's a good mix of flavors with the grapes, dressing, and meat and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I would never have made this if it weren't for the positive reviews... it sounds so wierd! But it WAS really good. Based on the reviews, I did the following: I doubled the sauce, but then did not end up using it all. I reserved about 1 cup of the sauce. I chilled the salad overnight, and added about 1/2 cup of the reserved sauce a couple hours before serving, which really helped with keeping the pasta moist. I also used 2 cups of pasta, left over Easter ham, 1 T of cidar vinegar and 1 T of lemon juice, and I waited to add the onions and grapes until a few hours before serving. (I quartered my grapes so that my toddler could eat the saiad, and I thought they might dry out otherwise). All said, it was really good, and the flavors worked suprisingly well together. My husband loved it. Thanks for all the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I used bow-tie pasta, red seedless grapes & decreased the cheese tremendously (I only had about 1/2 cup of a shredded mexican blend... (colby, cheddar & jack I think). I had plenty of dressing...probably due to the decrease in cheese. I thought the bites w/out the grapes were just so-so...but if you get a bite that contains all the elements of the recipe....YUMMM! I did think it was best just slightly chilled...the flavors come through more. Thanks Allison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I just made the dressing of this recipe for a pasta salad I was making so I'm just rating the dressing not the whole recipe. I found that it didn't have quite enough flavor. I added about 1 tsp more dillweed and sqeezed in some lemon juice to brighten the flavor. I liked cutting the mayo with the sour cream it sure lightened it up! Not bad with the tweaking I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapinitblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This is a GREAT salad recipe! I have used it for a few years now! Keep coming back on here and looking it up....everyone that has tried it LOVES it (once they get past the thought of grapes in a pasta salad!) Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States