Allison's Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was good; I don't know if it was spectaular, but it was a nice change. I did increase the amount of dressing a bit, although not quite doubled. I also increased the amount of dill (because I love it!) and I used less vinegar, along with some lemon juice, which gave this a great fresh flavor. The combination of ham, grapes, cheese and green onions was a good one. All in all, a very good recipe and I will probably make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was good with the omission of grapes. I think next time I will use chunks of american cheese instead of cheddar, just a personal preference. I also might make a little more dressing because it seemed kind of dry. The dressing for this is very similar to a recipe I love that is served at Souper!Salads Restaurants. Thiers uses ribbon pasta and whole kernel corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This salad is full of tongue-teasing surprises in every bite. It got rave reviews at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I love the flavor of this recipe. I use crumbled bacon instead of ham and half the amount of cheese. It is a great salad that you can keep in the fridge and have as a quick snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I was looking for a pasta salad to make for our thanksgiving dinner this year and after trying other recipes with grapes (yes, suggest seedless red grapes) this is the one. I agree tweaking the dressing a bit w/lemon juice and a little celery salt. How can you go wrong adding cheese and ham. Come on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I can normally tell what to expect from a recipe by reading the reviews, but the reviews for this are all over the place! A lot of people doubled the sauce, but some people said that there was too much, so I wasn't sure what to do. I ended up increasing the sauce but not quite doubling it, and I still thought the salad was a bit dry after refrigerating for a few hours. I added a few tablespoons of milk to moisten it up. I used fat free mayo and light sour cream to reduce the fat and used chicken instead of ham because of my own preference, but other than that I tried to stick to the recipe pretty closely. I thought it tasted okay, but you have to make sure that you have a grape in every bite. It's mediocre without the grapes. I wouldn't count on serving 8 people with this unless the people are small eaters. I doubt I'll make this salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Very good salad! This was a big hit at our family party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NELSONGIRLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Overall the recipe was good. I am rating it a 3 because I did not like the vinegar taste in the dressing. The grapes are a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This pasta salad is good, but I didn't care much for the ham. The dressing is good, very similar to the dressing I make for potato salad. I will make this again, only next time I might use leftover turkey instead of the ham and dried cranberries in place of the grapes. I also think it would be better with shredded cheese instead of diced. It does taste better after being refrigerated overnight. Next time I will plan ahead and make it the day before I want to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I have to say, I am REALLY surprised at all the positive reviews. I had to throw this away, and it was a big bummer because you have to buy and use a lot of stuff in it. The vinegar was overwhelming, it just tasted BAD. I tried to make sure I got a bite with everything and it still was just...bad. I followed the recipe exactly...definetly not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States