Allison's Cold Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I can't rate any stars on this it was really bland... The cocktail sauce helped a little but not much. Not a great recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe has potential-- but I made a few changes: I purchased a 16 oz package of crabmeat. I used 12 oz for the recipe and followed it as it was written. Here's my addition: I put the dip in the bottom of a shallow dish and topped it with a layer of seafood sauce and the remainder of the crabmeat. Serve it with Townhouse Flatbread Crisps. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
A GREAT starter recipe! If you aren't very confidant in the kitchen this is a really east recipe to get you going! I added, like others did, garlic, artichokes, Louisiana hot sauce, and I doubled the horseradish, but I LOVE spicy! I also added some white onion, and a healthy plop of cocktail sauce! I think everything blends together really well, and it leaves just a bit of bite on your tongue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krydavis03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
PERFECT! Just the effect I was looking for. The "blandness" that other reviewers report allows the subtle, delectable flavor of the crab to shimmer through. Because I did not have green onions on-hand I substituted 2 tablespoons of finely chopped white onion, then added a teaspoon of chopped dried chives for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Very easy and good dip! I tried it without any changes and it was a little bland - old bay added a little more and a splash of lemon juice - thanks! this was way too easy for a quick 4th of july last minute party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
We didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a great base recipe for cold Crab Dip. I occasionally sub fresh chopped garlic for horseradish and add a pinch of cayenne, paprika, and a little nutmeg (sounds weird but adds a little something to creamy rich sauces, dips). Also if you want a little thinner consistency add a 1 cup of sour cream and some lemon juice. Thanks Allison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made crab legs for the first time and I was not a fan so I looked up a recipe for crab dip and chose this one. My husband loved it! It was easy to use and gone in no time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
As is, it's a 4, but it's a 5 if you add a little of each; old bay, worcestershire, lemon, sherry and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States