Allison's Cold Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I can't rate any stars on this it was really bland... The cocktail sauce helped a little but not much. Not a great recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe has potential-- but I made a few changes: I purchased a 16 oz package of crabmeat. I used 12 oz for the recipe and followed it as it was written. Here's my addition: I put the dip in the bottom of a shallow dish and topped it with a layer of seafood sauce and the remainder of the crabmeat. Serve it with Townhouse Flatbread Crisps. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
A GREAT starter recipe! If you aren't very confidant in the kitchen this is a really east recipe to get you going! I added, like others did, garlic, artichokes, Louisiana hot sauce, and I doubled the horseradish, but I LOVE spicy! I also added some white onion, and a healthy plop of cocktail sauce! I think everything blends together really well, and it leaves just a bit of bite on your tongue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krydavis03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
PERFECT! Just the effect I was looking for. The "blandness" that other reviewers report allows the subtle, delectable flavor of the crab to shimmer through. Because I did not have green onions on-hand I substituted 2 tablespoons of finely chopped white onion, then added a teaspoon of chopped dried chives for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Very easy and good dip! I tried it without any changes and it was a little bland - old bay added a little more and a splash of lemon juice - thanks! this was way too easy for a quick 4th of july last minute party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
We didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a great base recipe for cold Crab Dip. I occasionally sub fresh chopped garlic for horseradish and add a pinch of cayenne, paprika, and a little nutmeg (sounds weird but adds a little something to creamy rich sauces, dips). Also if you want a little thinner consistency add a 1 cup of sour cream and some lemon juice. Thanks Allison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made crab legs for the first time and I was not a fan so I looked up a recipe for crab dip and chose this one. My husband loved it! It was easy to use and gone in no time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
As is, it's a 4, but it's a 5 if you add a little of each; old bay, worcestershire, lemon, sherry and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States