Alligator Pears and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
A great salad! I make this at work for lunch. Several coworkers have put this recipe into their lunch rotation. I use one avocado to one apple. I use jumbo raisins not soaked, and reduce the honey to 1 tablespoon. It's a perfect lunch for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Didn't care for the raisins, but very much liked the rest of it. May try with yogurt covered raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I've started to experiment with some new foods to cook with. This was my second recipe to use avocados. I appreciate how quickly this recipe came together, using ingredients I always have on hand. I only used one avocado this time - as the rest of the family isn't sold on it yet :) I used walnut pieces instead of sunflower seeds (personal preference). I liked the creamy texture the avocado gave the salad, and the tastes and textures worked really nicely together. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I thought this dish was incredibly bland. I wouldn't serve it as a side dish or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
works great with almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is wonderful! So easy and healthy! I'm not even a huge fan of avocados, and I loved this! I did substitute toasted walnuts for the sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Delicious and a quick fix. I didn't have enough raisins so I ended up with a bit of golden raisins and a bit of dried cherries...it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Quick, easy, and soooo good! What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I really liked this. I did add chopped, freah pinapple to the recipe and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Very good salad, but I would reduce the honey by half in the future...very sweet as is. You'll wonder why you never had apples and avocados together before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States