Alligator Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was pretty good chile. I only used 1 pound of the alligator as it is very expensive here on the west coast. For myself I would leave out the cinnamon next time. My adult daughter, who generally won't eat anything that isn't frozen premade or heated out of a can, did enjoy this, even after I told her the main ingredient. To my taste, alligator is similar to rattlesnake, rather than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Awesome, Doug! I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes in place of crushed because that's what was on hand. Served it at "Wild Game Day" - not a single bit left!!! We'll do this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was awesome, the only thing I didn't do was add the chopped chili in the adobo sauce because I didn't have it! I also couldn't get ground gator so i used just tenderized gator meat, kinda like chicken breasts. I chopped it up small and the chili turned out perfect! Everyone loved it, Thanks Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonfly22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemblesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by J Chou
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Delicious. Easy to follow instructions from this recipe. Ingredients easy to find at the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Chou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I love this recipe for chili more than any other chili ive had. im 14 and im joing a chili cook off and this will for sure win ill be sure to name it after you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I love my recipe. Since this was first submitted I have started using red & yellow peppers and a teaspoon of smoked paprika. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very good. Will be making often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The local Kroger didn't have alligator meat (not a lot of them in Kentucky...), so I used chicken. GOOD stuff, in spite of having to switch the primary ingredient!! The seasonings are exeptionally well balanced -- just enough heat, without interfering with great flavor. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
As a vegetarian, I was impressed with this recipe, because I could easily substitute extra beans (cannellini and black beans) and vegetables for the alligator meat (I hate soy and won't use it!). This recipe has lots of beans and spices, so it's a great basic chili recipe. I especially like the spice blend, because I detest premade chili powder. I use coriander/fresh cillantro leaves as a garnish, along with some sour cream, cheddar cheese, and sliced green onions. (In case you're interested, I use corn (Green Giant Peaches and Cream ONLY (frozen or canned), diced carrots, onions, mixed sweet peppers, and sometimes peas and broccoli pieces (love the stems, peeled and diced!) in my chili.) Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I was in a hurry so just used a packet of the powder 'chili seasoning' from the store- which worked fine! I also put in crock pot! It made the house smell great - My favorite part is the green pepper. Very good, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz ShultsFronduto

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States