Allie's Mushroom Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Fantastic! So easy and fast, and though I was skeptical of the "no sauce" idea, it was fabulous. I didn't use sesame oil b/y my husband is alergic to it, but what I noticed is that the flavor of the oil replaces the sauce flavor I'm used to. I used a good quality olive oil. I imagine w/ the sesame it would've been even better. One word of warning: the crust I bought had holes poked through it, so the oil of course soaked through to the counter...put your crust on a baking sheet first. I followed the baking directions on the crust package, which were a bit different in time and temp than this recipe, but I figured I wanted my crust done right. (The crust was a 2 pack, so this was the adult pizza and I made a cheese for the kids.) I also used canned mushrooms b/c it's all I had, and I added 1/2 of a diced fresh tomato. Awesome! This will become a regular on our need-dinner-quick-nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is surprisingly good. I love tomatoes, so I just added part of a can of diced ones underneath everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Way too much oil! It was so oily and greasy and yucky. I sauteed the mushrooms in sesame oil and used the entire olive oil on the crust and we had to throw it away. Am goin back to the store and gonna try again. Less oil, more garlic plus I added tomoatoes. The wheat crust is ok but kinda bland. Do not use all that oil. It looked so pretty but take my advice, less is more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbpackfanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Thanks for sharing Allie. It was really yummy and I will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Since I don't like pizza sauce, this is perfect. I do, however, add some peeled, seeded & diced tomato to this. It is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is a very simple, light and delicious recipe. I had to substitute the olive oil with Wesson 'Best Blend' oil because that's all I had. Still good but next time I WILL have olive oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe will be a favorite at our dinner table from now on!! I made one pizza exactly by the recipe and the second pizza I added a thin layer of basil pesto over the oil and also a half can of well drained petite diced garlic and olive oil flavored tomatoes. Both pizzas were very good. I also used the "Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust" recipe from this website (using 100% whole wheat instead of the mix of white and whole wheat flour). I have never been so happy with a homemade pizza!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdominy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Point, Georgia, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
In Italy, pizza is a very simple dish, not the huge pizza we have here that sometimes have a pound or more of cheese and meats on them. They might have a small amount of tomato sauce spread over the crust or sometimes they make a white pizza. I like the simplicity of this recipe. Just the flavors of spinach, oil, and mushrooms. I'm allergic to sesame, so just use all olive oil on it. If you want a little seasoning, add some salt and pepper, but not so much that it tastes salty. The idea is to let the ingredients shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I''m going to agree with previous reviewers- needs sauce. Not much flavor going on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made it with "Jay's signature Pizza Crust" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States