Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
This was really good. The best I've tried. It turned out creamy and yummy and my daughter made me set some aside for her lunch tomorrow. The only thing I did different was to add a little chopped onion. What a terrific way to use up left-over ham. I also liked that it had 3 different kinds of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
***This is Allie who submitted this recipe. Please be advised that I am a cook who learned the old fashiond way and does not measure!!! I submitted this recipe trying to duplicate in my mind what I actually put in the pot and failed. I realized that I do NOT use a full pound of pasta, but only a 1/2 lb. I do use a full quart of milk though. It sounds like alot, but if you cook the macaroni aldente, then when you add the sauce and bake, the macaroni will soak up the extra sauce. Please make sure you let the finished dish rest 10-15 mins. before serving so it will set up. But that will take care of the few comments about being not as creamy as it sounded. I'm very sorry about the mishap, and THANKS to all of you for the great reviews!!!! Alyson Pray
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
The staff at Allrecipes.com has revised the recipe to reflect the changes as suggested by the submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
As a single dad of two small kids it's hard to find a one pot dish to please all of us. My son doesn't like red sauce, but we all love cheese. I like hot and spicy, but the kids like it bland. I took some of ally's cheese recipe and mixed in half the pasta. Then I added some hot pepper and spices to the rest of the cheese sauce and mixed that with the rest of the pasta. I put both portions on opposite sides of the baking dish and "voile!" This dish went over like a box of twinkies at a fat farm. I now have a one pot dish that has everyone coming back for more. Thanks Ally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
While I found this recipe tough (not being too much of a "cooker"), the result was worth the messy kitchen and the time spent. This mac and cheese rivals that of my grandmother, and my husband said it was the best he'd ever had! Will definately be making it again. (For those of you who have problems with measurements, like me, I used 3 cups of milk, which appeared to be perfect!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
We found this recipe very easy to prepare and quite tasty. Prep time was minimal but the six servings were closer to twelve (for us).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2000
Took a while to make, but well worth it! I substituted grilled chicken for the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
Very good. I added a top layer of Italian Bread Crumbs 30 minutes before removing it from the oven and it really made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
Absolutely delicious! I added crumbled bacon instead of the cubed ham, and a bit of garlic & onion powder. My 2 year old loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
This really reminds me of the Macaroni and Cheese my mom use to make from scratch!! I was very pleased with how it came out. My husband, who has really only had Kraft Mac & Cheese, couldn't believe how good homemade could be! Thanks for sharing this with us! I would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States