Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I love this one... I made it the way it says the first time minus the ham around Thanksgiving and my family loved it. I then made it again for Chirstmas , but I left out the hame again and switch the cheeses to 15 oz of Velveeta. It is so much creamer this way. I am not required to make this version for every family gathering now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is the best mac n’ cheese I ever tasted. I been using this recipe for years now and finally decided to write a review. People beg me to make this, that's how great it is. Its the truest form of comfort food and has become a regular at my Thanksgiving table as well as BBQ's. I leave out the ham but I follow the recipe to the tee and its always, always a hit. I have even prepared it a day ahead and throw it in the oven an hour before we sit down to eat! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNNI112

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I love this! So I changed the recipe around a little bit, I didn't use ham and I used Velveeta cheese for my cheddar and added several other cheeses to it, I also used half and half to make it creamier. I've used 2% milk and came out a little grainy, but whole milks works nicely too. I kept all the spices and added garlic and onion powder to the sauce and the topping. I baked it for 20 mins and then broiled it for about 1 min 30 sec to get the "crunchy" topping. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is my go to recipe for mac and cheese. I love mac and cheese, and I make this recipe during the cooler months of Fall and Winter, since I think it is a heavy type of dish. I have also added imitation crabmeat in place of using ham and that tasted yummy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was a very good twist on an old favorite. I think the roux must be the key to its abundant flavor. And like it says, if all ingredients are lined up on the counter, making this dish is about the easiest thing you'll do all week. My whole family really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe is great. I make it all of the time. The only thing I do differently is not add the meat and use it for a side dish. My sister-in-law calls me for it constantly too. Now she makes it out of all organic ingredients and they all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very good! I just used one small ham steak and wasn't sure if it would be enough but it was plenty. Make sure you leave enough time for it to set the 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I used to make a macaroni and cheese recipe from my father that has been known as "Michael's Mac & Cheese". After trying this recipe and making some small changes over the years of using this recipe, it is definitely the best Mac & Cheese recipe around. I have been in search of the best Mac & Cheese and I haven't found one anywhere. The reason why this recipe is so good is because of the roux. Take the time it's worth it. I have also added 12 strips of bacon cooked in the oven and coarsely chopped in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael McNeil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Awesome. I made this last night and boy it beats the box kind ten fold and that's skipping the HAM. I added 5 ounces of Dubliner cheese and gave it a little kick. I mixed the sauce in just enough to coat the macaroni and spooned some on top (I have about 1 1/4 cup leftover, good for fondue). Baked for 45 minutes or so. The top was nice and chewy, the inside was perfectly cooked. I suggest that you keep it at about 1.5 to 2 inches thick, so it cooks evenly and less time. This will now be a staple recipe for get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Sorry, but even with adding some Havarti cheese this was a little bland. The consisteny was great, just needed something more.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States