Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was so, so very good! Oh my goodness. Its like heaven in a spoon. As RUBENETTE suggested, I also left out the ham, used 12 oz macaroni, and added a teaspoon each of ground mustard and worcestershire sauce. I also added some bread crumbs over the top and it made it even more yummy and crispy. Will make again and again. Wish there was some left over to eat right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I wish I had all the ingredients to make this recipe as given even so - this recipe came out as a 5 star without the ham, pepper or paprika! I loved it! Thanks for the recipe it is a keeper and I promise to have all the ingredients next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Yummo! This was really really good. We made it as the recipe stated just throwing some breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese on the top before baking for good measure and it was perfect. Not perfectly good for you but perfect as far as comforting mac and cheese goes. I will be retrying this recipe with different variations of cheese in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Yumm... the ultimate in comfort food! I made this to go with The Best Meatloaf (so I ommitted the ham) and it was sooo good! My kids loved it!!! I used 5 oz. of jack/cheddar mix shredded, 5 oz. of mozz shredded, and 5 oz of kraft American Cheese slices that I wanted to get rid of. I then topped with about 1/2 cup of panko bread crumbs mixed with about 2 TB melted butter. Cooked for about 40 minutes--broiled for the last couple mins to brown the bread crumbs. Oh, used 2 cups skim and 2 cups 2% (warmed in micro for a min) and it was plenty creamy!! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I love this one... I made it the way it says the first time minus the ham around Thanksgiving and my family loved it. I then made it again for Chirstmas , but I left out the hame again and switch the cheeses to 15 oz of Velveeta. It is so much creamer this way. I am not required to make this version for every family gathering now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is the best mac n’ cheese I ever tasted. I been using this recipe for years now and finally decided to write a review. People beg me to make this, that's how great it is. Its the truest form of comfort food and has become a regular at my Thanksgiving table as well as BBQ's. I leave out the ham but I follow the recipe to the tee and its always, always a hit. I have even prepared it a day ahead and throw it in the oven an hour before we sit down to eat! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNNI112

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I love this! So I changed the recipe around a little bit, I didn't use ham and I used Velveeta cheese for my cheddar and added several other cheeses to it, I also used half and half to make it creamier. I've used 2% milk and came out a little grainy, but whole milks works nicely too. I kept all the spices and added garlic and onion powder to the sauce and the topping. I baked it for 20 mins and then broiled it for about 1 min 30 sec to get the "crunchy" topping. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is my go to recipe for mac and cheese. I love mac and cheese, and I make this recipe during the cooler months of Fall and Winter, since I think it is a heavy type of dish. I have also added imitation crabmeat in place of using ham and that tasted yummy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was a very good twist on an old favorite. I think the roux must be the key to its abundant flavor. And like it says, if all ingredients are lined up on the counter, making this dish is about the easiest thing you'll do all week. My whole family really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe is great. I make it all of the time. The only thing I do differently is not add the meat and use it for a side dish. My sister-in-law calls me for it constantly too. Now she makes it out of all organic ingredients and they all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States