Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Wow - this was super easy AND delicious. What I loved about this recipe is that it can be made as is and served as a creamy style mac n cheese, or can also be baked and be more set. We loved it both ways. I also threw in some crumbled bacon and it took it to a new level of yummy complexity. I really think the mustard is key - it seems to amplify all of the flavors. Make this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My son loved it; it was great to say that I made homemade macaroni! I would recommend using diced ham and not cubed. A ham loving child will pick out the cubes, diced would allow the ham to penetrate more of the mix, we will use diced next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mighty Mouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Simons Island, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was a really good recipe. I didn't have any ham so I used hotdogs instead. Also, I used a 16oz package of macaroni instead of 8oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
One word...EXCELLENT! Thanks for posting this delicious recipe! I'm generally not a fan of homemade mac & cheese. It always seems too dry to me, but this was sooooo good. Creamy and perfectly cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hagtag1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I had never made a roux before so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I doubled the recipe and added two handfuls of extra macaroni as well as two cups of chopped broccoli instead of ham. Used mostly sharp cheddar, cheddar jack and covered the top with ~ cup of mozzarella and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Change the ham to bacon and add 1/2 of a beer and worchestershire sauce to the cheese sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Thank you Allie. This was delicious. I did make one change due to a milk-sensitive hubbie - I used chicken broth instead of milk. Perfectly creamy, cheesy...a delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
followed evrything so it seems the taste was right ,but not the taste i really wanted to.Seems too oily when i took it out anyway from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakurambo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
my family did not really like this. Next time I will try something with no ham and a crumbly topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was so, so very good! Oh my goodness. Its like heaven in a spoon. As RUBENETTE suggested, I also left out the ham, used 12 oz macaroni, and added a teaspoon each of ground mustard and worcestershire sauce. I also added some bread crumbs over the top and it made it even more yummy and crispy. Will make again and again. Wish there was some left over to eat right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States