Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My two very NON-picky kids wouldn't touch it. I took a bite and it was spongy and not nearly cheesy enough. I followed the recipe exactly except I sprinkled extra cheese on top (that was the best part) It's just not for us at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Niezgocki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Thia recipe was fantastic and everyone who tried it, loved it. I also added the mustard and bread crumbs etc. It was delicious. The reason it gets a 4 instead of 5 rating is because it definitely takes about 45 mintues to prepare and only needs about 25 minutes to cook and 3 mintues to broil and make the breadcrumbs crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was a delicious mac and cheese. I used shells. I didn't add the ham, and I used the cheeses I had on hand, cheddar, colby and montery jack, and muenster and it turned out great. I think it's really in the cheese sauce. I thought a quart of milk was a bit much and I was half a cup short, but it turned out great. I cooked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Took other reviewers advice, omitted ham, added dry mustard and worcestershire, increased amount of macaroni. The result was disappointing still - a lot of work and SO bland! If I decide to try again I'd use stronger cheeses only, like sharp cheddar. But I will probably look elsewhere for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I am extremely disappointed at having wasted all my time (and my cheese!) making this recipe... and I am really puzzled by all the rave reviews. The baking instructions are way off- this was a congealed mess after just 30 minutes of in the oven (never mind the 45 mins the recipe calls for). I followed all the directions and had a delicious, creamy cheese sauce (I had added 1/2 tsp of ground mustard & onion powder). I should have just mixed the sauce and the pasta and ate it like that, as the oven baked out ALL the flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It was fine but not the best ever. I did not add ham though and changed the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is a great start, but I like some heat in all of my food. Here are my modifications: Boil pasta for 5 minutes only. Do not shock with cold water. Use 12oz. macaroni rather than 8oz. Use a full teaspoon each of cayenne and salt rather than a pinch. Add one teaspoon of mustard seed. Add a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce to the milk before reducing. Use equal parts of shredded extra sharp cheddar, monterey jack, and a hot pepper cheese (habanero is perfect), small cubes or shredded. Bake for 25 minutes only, no need to bake further. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
this is so far the BEST mac n cheese i have tried. BOTH children loved. agree totally that 12 oz of pasta is NECESSARY. i had no motz so just increased the other two cheeses; alos added cubed ham. will try your other recipes as this was fabu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Very good, i added some spicy seasoning salt and some worchestershire sauce as someone else had mentioned. Also did not have any ham so I added some hot dogs, tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I really wanted to like this recipe. It was the first "from scratch" mac & cheese I've attempted. It was a lot of work to get the milk boiled just right, etc, while chasing 2 small children. But it turned out to taste just like Piccadilly's. My little boy didn't like it - preferred Kraft from a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States