Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Because of the amount of sauce this makes, I used a full one pound box of noodles so it wasn't too soupy. I added breadcrumbs to the top when baking and it turned out great! Everyone wanted seconds. This is the mac and cheese recipe I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I made this for a quick dinner Friday night mostly out of desperation and looking for a comfort food for all involved. I used a combination of extra sharp white cheddar and the monterey jack, as I was all out of mozzerella. Really gave the cheese sauce a nice bite. I also used turkey ham, which I've always found to be cheaper and a little healthier. I found that this really only took me 20 minutes to pull together and stick in the oven and my family was thrilled with it that we never really are with the boxed bullhonky. This dish disappeared quickly and we all were satisfied. I think that if I make this next time, I'll add some steamed broccoli cut into chunks instead of eating them on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I have made this many times, and sometimes I use ham, and sometimes I don't. I use the preshredded cheese, and it always comes out delcious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This recipe is good, however I add a few of my own personal touches in order to make it better. First, I don't add nearly as much milk as stated in the recipe... this makes it more creamy and less soupy. Next I like to use 8 ounces of velveeta cheese and 8 ounces of sharp cheddar cheese instead so it gives the macaroni a little kick. Also, A great idea is to mix breadcrumbs with butter and spread them over the top of the macaroni and cheese before it goes in the oven to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I didn't care for this too much. Sorry :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My kids love this recipe and request it often. I would add some more spice, but the kids like it just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Really didnt care for this. Maybe I am not a homemade mac n cheese lover. Did not care for the consistency at all. Nobody in our house cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
My kids don't like mac n' cheese but the grownups loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2theC4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Delicious is the right word here!!! We had a huge ham for Easter which meant lots of leftovers to use up, this recipe was perfect! My few moderations are: I used a whole box of elbow macaroni (1 lb) and crushed up some french fried onions for the top, baked 30 minutes . I never made a white sauce before so I was worried it would be horrible but with these easy to follow directions it came out great, Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~jz~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This basic recipe is a staple in our house. I make this often and its actually easy and quick once you do it a few times. DO use more pasta than is required. You really can use close to a 1lb of pasta with this amount of sauce. Make sure your roux is thick before you add the cheese. I sometimes replace a 1/2 to one cup of heavy cream in place of same amount of milk - makes it so creamy but does make it much richer. Also- pasta needs to be JUST al dente and not overcooked when you bake it. I use whatever cheese and macaroni I have on hand. My favorite is to use sharp cheddar and I sometimes add some Emeril's Essence in it for a kick when bringing to a party. For kids its great just as is. Good with cheddar cheese and bread crumbs on top as well. I made this with leftover Easter ham and my kids devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States