Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I make this yummy dish every Thanksgiving and the only reason there is ever leftovers is because now I purposely make two trays, one to serve at dinner and the other for people to take home as leftovers. The great thing about this dish is that it's very versatile, you can swap out any of the cheeses listed for another type of cheese to suit your tastes, also you can add other things like bacon, a can of diced tomatoes, turkey, jalapeños, whatever! Also for a creamier sauce you can add a can of evaporated milk (just reduce the amount of milk accordingly) The dish is very high calorie but it’s perfect for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Nirvana. As others have done, I used a whole 16oz of macaroni. I omitted the ham. For the cheeses, I used Cabot cheddar, jack, and some Chihuahua (Mexican white melting cheese). I couldn't have asked for better mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I've been looking for a good mac and cheese recipe for awhile, and this is the best one I've found. I left the ham out, to make it vegetarian. I took some other reviewers suggestions, and used 16 oz of macaroni instead of 8. I think it would have been much too soupy otherwise. I also sauteed some panko breadcrumbs in 2 tbsp of melted butter, and then added some shredded parmesan cheese and sprinkled it on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Good macaroni and cheese..still does not compare to my sister-in-laws, not as creamy ...but Good none the less. I did omit the cubed ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
i didn't follow the recipe exactly, only used cheddar and jack. used a pint of half and half and about half a cup more 2% milk. didn't use ham. added some shredded cheddar in with the macaroni before the sauce was added to hold together a bit. so good. my fiancee was very impressed and i will be definitely making this again. thank you for the recipe. oh, and a pound of macaroni is totally doable, there is plenty of cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
No one in my family of 5 was fond of this dish. I made it exact. It was dry and lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I don't like when people rate recipes low and they add modificationsto it. Remember - its not the same recipe you're rating if you change it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim and jay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Best mac n cheese I have ever made. This is a keeper. I used 2 parts sharp chedder cheese and 1 part velveeta. It was all I had on hand. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This recipe was easy and fantastic. My family loved it. It will definetly replace our "old standyby" Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is very good, great for potlucks! I made some adjustments: I used 1 lb. of noodles, 1 lb. velveeta cheese with cheddar and monterey jack, no ham and added 2 tsp. dry mustard and 1 tsp. worsestershire as suggested by another reviewer. I also mixed 1/2 c. panko bread crumbs, 1/2 c. grated parmesan, and 3-4 T. melted marg. for a topping. I found that I needed to add a little more milk (1 cup?) to thin the cheese sauce so it didn't get too thick when it baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States