Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
People think I make the best Mac & cheese thanks to this recipe. I've never put in the ham & usually use a variety of cheeses including sharp cheddar & white cheddar. I broil it for a few minutes at the end to give it a nice crispy brown top crust. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I cooked this for my flatmates and they loved it. We make this every other week and there is never leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jiftie
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made it a little more spicy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this for my teenage daughter and her friends, and it was a huge hit! I think next time I would double the pasta. It was too much sauce and not enough pasta, although I substituted mezzo penne for the elbow macaroni, so I don't know if that would make a difference? I think you could use any cheese combination you liked for this recipe, so it would be fun to experiment. I can't imagine using half & half, though, because it was already so thick and rich. I used 2% milk. I also added a panko crumb topping (panko mixed with butter) for the last 15 minutes of bake time, because my daughter loves a topping on her mac & cheese. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laura010981
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I substituted the ham with bacon for a twist. It was a family hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I was looking for a non-processed, mother type macaroni and cheese recipe, and this is it. NICE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe is awesome. It's my first time making mac and cheese in years and it was delicious! Instead of the cheeses mentioned, I just asked the delicatessen for cheese ends (that's what my mom has always done for hers because they're cheap and you get a variety) and it came out great! I'm sure the other cheeses together would be lovely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
My husband loved this. Wants me to make it again! I took a few of the reviewers recommendations and used a quart of half & half, worcestershire and mustard. On top I added garlic & herb bread crumbs and sprinkled with smoked paprika. Thanks Allie for a great recipe for me to play with. It was my first time making my new husband's favorite dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Here's the basic recipe, w following changes that I took from other recipes....for cheeses, I used 8 oz ea sharp cheddar, monterey jack, and mozzarella, all grated before adding to the simmering roux of 5 tbs butter and 5 tbs flour I used gravy flour...i used one quart of fat free half and half instead of milk...also added pinch nutmeg, 1 tsp dijon mustard, 1 tsp worcestershire sauce, 1/2 lb tavern ham from deli counter, thickly sliced so I could dice it into very small pieces, 1/2 medium onion, grated...all gets mixed into the sauce....I.used 1 lb elbow macaroni, mix well with the sauce, poured into buttered casserole dish, and then topped w progresso italian bread crumbs, mixed w melted butter until crumbly, put in 400 oven for 25 mins or until brown on top, dont overcook...really delicious, and a lot of leftovers...ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I was disappointed in this recipe. It was really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States