Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by laura010981
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I substituted the ham with bacon for a twist. It was a family hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I was looking for a non-processed, mother type macaroni and cheese recipe, and this is it. NICE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe is awesome. It's my first time making mac and cheese in years and it was delicious! Instead of the cheeses mentioned, I just asked the delicatessen for cheese ends (that's what my mom has always done for hers because they're cheap and you get a variety) and it came out great! I'm sure the other cheeses together would be lovely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
My husband loved this. Wants me to make it again! I took a few of the reviewers recommendations and used a quart of half & half, worcestershire and mustard. On top I added garlic & herb bread crumbs and sprinkled with smoked paprika. Thanks Allie for a great recipe for me to play with. It was my first time making my new husband's favorite dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Here's the basic recipe, w following changes that I took from other recipes....for cheeses, I used 8 oz ea sharp cheddar, monterey jack, and mozzarella, all grated before adding to the simmering roux of 5 tbs butter and 5 tbs flour I used gravy flour...i used one quart of fat free half and half instead of milk...also added pinch nutmeg, 1 tsp dijon mustard, 1 tsp worcestershire sauce, 1/2 lb tavern ham from deli counter, thickly sliced so I could dice it into very small pieces, 1/2 medium onion, grated...all gets mixed into the sauce....I.used 1 lb elbow macaroni, mix well with the sauce, poured into buttered casserole dish, and then topped w progresso italian bread crumbs, mixed w melted butter until crumbly, put in 400 oven for 25 mins or until brown on top, dont overcook...really delicious, and a lot of leftovers...ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I was disappointed in this recipe. It was really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I give 2starts to this recipe because it gets ruined by baking it so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
try pepper jack instead of monterrey jack, keep the dry mustard & cayenne. yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keycat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is really good, but I always use 2% evaporated milk in recipes for cream sauce & it worked great in this. I didn't have ham, but mixed in some broccoli & red pepper flakes, used Mexican blend cheese in place of the mozzarella so it would be less stringy, & crumbled crispy bacon & buttered crumbs on top. It was wonderful & I'm sure I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Try it with sauted hot Italian sausage rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States