Allie's Delicious Baked Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
this is a great recipe, it came out perfect the first time and everyone loved them, I added some dried cranberries and made the filling with a little more butter and spice, it was so good...I will be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Delicious recipe. I made the recipe as written the first time. After that, I made just a few changes. Instead of 1c. white sugar, I used 1/2 cup of an equal mix brown/white sugar. I also decreased the amount of cinnamon (to taste) and chopped the apples into coarse chunks. I've also used this recipe with fresh and canned peaches. I think you could use any type of fruit filling for a quick and easy personal sized pie. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherBitner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is soo good. My only tweak was to add some brown sugar instead of the whole cup of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delicious! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My husband liked it a lot. I thought it was okay, I think I prefer a traditional apple dumpling better and I think he liked the pastry puff. I might combine the two next time. I also thought the apple was a little over cooked, he thought it was fine. I think I will try whole apple cored and stuffed next time. Easy and worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I chose this recipe because it used puffed pastry instead of pie dough, and it looked to be the easiest. I made it today and I LOVED it! The only problem I ran into was the cook time; the dumplings were done 5 minutes after I turned down the heat to 350 degrees (for a total of 20 minutes in the oven). The apples were cooked all the way through, too. I have shared this recipe with my friends on Facebook, and I will keep it close by to use over and over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
These were so easy. Tastes like an apple turnover. Like others, the next time I make these I will cut down quite a bit on the cinnamon. It was a little overpowering but still delicious. The recipe makes 8 and my husband ate 4 of them in two days. So it's very good. Oh one more thing I left off the icing. They were great without it. Reheats just fine by microwave too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
The best ever ty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
AMAZING... I made it with red delicious apples, because that was all that I had on hand, and I served it with vanilla icecream. To eat the next day, just re-heat in oven. I thought that it tasted even better, since the spices had a chance to marinate. I may chop up the apple next time just to make it easier to eat. Over-all, Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Fabulous! Especially served w/vanilla bean ice-cream...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States