Allana's Zesty Red Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
LOVED your soup, Allana! This was perfect for lunch today. I prepared with just minor tweaks. I sauteed the bacon in a little cannola oil right in the soup pot and removed, then added the veggies including the potatoes & a spoonful of minced garlic, for their saute, about ten minutes or so. I then added everything into the soup pot, including the salad shrimp and clams. Loved all of the spices, fun raiding the spice cabinet. I did use celery salt for the seasoned salt, no powdered garlic (used minced) and perhaps a little more generous scoops. I also added a cup of chicken/tomato broth, as I like more broth and simmered this a good two hours covered before serving. Delish! As a previous reviewer mentioned, this would also be great with a couple of splashes of heavy cream, perhaps next time to mix it up, but very good (and lower calorie) as-is. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by Dusty
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I really enjoyed this, I did add more vegetables and spiced it up a bit more with some Cayenne Pepper then about 1/2 cup of heavy cream. We ate some before and after the cream and everyone agreed it was a better texture with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dusty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
We really liked this soup. I have also subbed small bay scallops for the shrimp and it was really good that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good, my boyfriend loved it! I added more clams, but that was the only change I made. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Excellent seafood soup. Even better than the one I had on Isla Mujeres. My kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was so delicious!! I made it without the bacon, to save some fat from the recipe and because I don't eat meat, and the flavor was still wonderful! I also added a few shrimp that i had that needed to be used up and they were a wonderful surprise while i was eating this soup! I made an entire crock-pot full of this, and my family ate it within two days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Maybe a little too hot. Reduce ground Pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I made this last night and I think it turned out great. There are some changes, however, that I made. First,I would saute the celery by itself for about 4 minutes before adding any other vegetables to the pot(this would ensure that it wouldn't be still crunchy at the end of simmering). I would not add the bacon; cut the 1/4 tsp of white pepper to 1/8th tsp; instead of 5 drops of hot sauce, only add 3, and before simmering for 20 minutes, add 1 1/4 cup of hot water, to make it more of a soup/chowder consistency. Without adding the water, it would have been way to thick and chuncky for me. Overall, my whole family was impressed. Thank you Allana for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Alot of work chopping all the ingredients and all the spices, but well worth it. Like a good chili, it tastes best the next day when all the flavors have blended together. I used fresh already shucked clams that I bought from a chinese market, so the clams were plentiful and flavorful, not rubbery. Left out the shrimp since I'm allergic, but probably would taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deafsetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
The recipe needs more clams and I think more bacon. I will try it again though with these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States