Allana's Excellent Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This turned out to be the best potato soup I have ever made. I had to add more stock to cover and cook the potatoes but it just has a wonderful flavor to it. I also added some carrots to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
The key to this recipe is to use the juice from the ham. I saved it after I baked the ham and used it in place of some of the chicken broth. It gave it a good rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
SO DELICIOUS! And incredibly easy too. When I make it the next time, I'll cut the potatoes a lot smaller and add more ham. It definitely does not need a lot of salt - I lightly sprinkled seasoning salt, and it was still fairly salty (not too much, tho). But very delicious and very easy! Hubby thought I spent beaucoup time in the kitchen when really I had not! (it mostly cooks itself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
We love this soup. I make this at least once a month, more in the winter. If I'm in a hurry on weeknights, I use frozen southern style hasbrowns and they work great. I serve with cornbread and salad for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Earlham, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This soup was extreamly good. I made it exactly as listed except I did not have seasoning salt or blend - and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I loved this recipe. When I made it the second time, I substituted 1 1/2 C. half and half and 1/2 C. milk for the 1 1/2 cups milk it called for. I also used cream of mushroom soup, instead of the celery. I also found I preferred real diced garlic versus the garlic powder, so that's what I used. I might also use sea salt versus the seasoned, as I wasn't crazy about that flavor, combined with the ham. This is a tasty recipe and super easy, and it heats up really well. I would also recommend doubling for a crowd, or taking it to a soup supper potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I love potato soup and this didn't disappoint. We found it creamy and delicious and seasoned exactly right. I was also impressed at how quickly it was ready. Bravo to posting this quick soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I love this soup! It's now the only Potato soup I make. Even my husband likes it and he is a picky eater. I substitute sausage for the ham and use pepper instead of seasoning salt. Great comfort food for those cold and rainy afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
if i could rate it more than 5 stars i would! it is soooooooooooo good. this has got to be the BEST soup i have ever made/tasted. Instead of the ham i put turkey bacon and instead of the cream of celery i put cream of soup. it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veeny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
We liked this very much. I added a little cheddar cheese 'cuz for me potato soup just isn't the same without it. Don't leave out the mustard, it really adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States