Allana's Excellent Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I loved this recipe. When I made it the second time, I substituted 1 1/2 C. half and half and 1/2 C. milk for the 1 1/2 cups milk it called for. I also used cream of mushroom soup, instead of the celery. I also found I preferred real diced garlic versus the garlic powder, so that's what I used. I might also use sea salt versus the seasoned, as I wasn't crazy about that flavor, combined with the ham. This is a tasty recipe and super easy, and it heats up really well. I would also recommend doubling for a crowd, or taking it to a soup supper potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
The key to this recipe is to use the juice from the ham. I saved it after I baked the ham and used it in place of some of the chicken broth. It gave it a good rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This turned out to be the best potato soup I have ever made. I had to add more stock to cover and cook the potatoes but it just has a wonderful flavor to it. I also added some carrots to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I love this soup! It's now the only Potato soup I make. Even my husband likes it and he is a picky eater. I substitute sausage for the ham and use pepper instead of seasoning salt. Great comfort food for those cold and rainy afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I love potato soup and this didn't disappoint. We found it creamy and delicious and seasoned exactly right. I was also impressed at how quickly it was ready. Bravo to posting this quick soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Easy to make and good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I made this using leftover smoked shoulder, figuring that the texture/taste of it would compliment the potatoes. I was a bit dissapointed, though, because the first step (cooking the ham with the onions) eliminated the texture/flavor of the smoked shoulder. Also, I made this dish ahead of time, let it cool in the refrigerator, and the heated it for dinner. The time it spent in the fridge thickened it, for initially it was too thin. Still, it was warming and filling, especially served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
i like the tender tast of ham cooked with potpatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I could not have picked a better day to make this recipe as the weather outside was just begging for homemade soup. It was delicious and I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of that I added about eight "baby carrots", finely chopped, to give it a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This is a GREAT recipie to make if you are in a rush.It is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States