Allana's Excellent Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
most excellent potato soup! I made some for me & my boyfriend. Took the leftovers into work, the girls loved it! One said I inspired her so much she went home and made her recipe for potato soup......and hated it! She came into work the next day begging for this recipe, which I gladly shared. Very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Used fresh style shredded hashbrowns for half the potatoes and diced with onion fresh style for other half..Great and will make again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This soup was sooooo Yummy. I made it according to the recipe except for the addition of corn. I think the next time I make it I will add both corn and string beans. I was worried about the consistency so I added about a teaspoon of cornstarch to thicken it up. I also mashed some of the potatoes with a fork per other reviewers. I added salt at the end to taste, because didn’t want it to be too salty. I used some leftover ham but I think it would have been great also with some thick bacon as well. It came out warm and creamy and my DH and my little one year old son loved it, as well as myself. It made really great leftovers and went well with warm crusty bread. Very easy and yummy give it a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaTisa Carrington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Made it for my wife and I last night (I cook...lol). It was so easy and the taste was superb. I substituted bacon for the ham and added some cheese upon serving. Next time, I will use ham. I highly recommend this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Great recipe made this last night. Made recipe exact except used bacon instead of ham and also made a roux of butter & flour to thicken, only because my husband likes thick soups and his favorite is potato came out like a potao chowder also served it with homemade buttery rolls from this site.This will be my go to recipe for potato soup. Yummy. Thank you Allana for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I added mild chedder cheese on top as I served....it really did make a great addition....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE929

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I thougth it was great. I substituted evaporated skim to save on calories, ran short on potatoes and used a cup of instant spuds, and it was super. I topped it with a sprinkle of crumbled bacon, a dollop of fat free sour cream and fresh sprig of parsley. Served with awesome ceasar salad, it was a family pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Schuman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I've never made potato soup before, but this recipe sounded good. I did modify it a bit. I used bacon instead of ham. I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of celery. I added some pepper and used minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I mashed up the potatoes a bit and added some cheese to make it creamier. I loved the soup. It tasted great, it had enough spice and was thick and creamy. Overall this is a great recipe, it just needed a few changes to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Made this for dinner last night and the family really liked it. I did mash up some of the potatoes and add a handfull of chedder cheese to the soup and garnished with a bit more cheese. Next time I will add more ham too, but the flavor was good and it was easy to make! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Sorry, but I can only give this three stars since A LOT of modifications were necessary to turn it into what was ultimately a FIVE start soup. Prepared as written, it is only threee stars. To amp it up in star quality, the potatoes needed to be pureed (as others recommended)to thicken the soup before it could considered anything but a "broth." I had to use more onion (1/2 C), much more ham (1 C), I added diced celery (1/2 C), and more seasonings (1 t pepper and 1 T Adobo)to help the recipe find its pulse. And since it was still significantly UNDERwhelming, I had to reach for a "hail Mary" in my pantry and refrigerator and decided on a tablespoon of pimento and about a tablespoon of the juice from the jar. Suddenly, and almost miraculously, the soup turned into FIVE star flavor and appearance. I would definitely serve the recipe (as modified) to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M-B

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States