Allana's Excellent Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Love potato soup! I used bacon instead of ham, added carrots and celery, and instead of cream of celery soup (I didn't have any) made a flour/milk thickener. My husband and I also like some heat, so I added a few dashes of tabasco sauce that made it amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imaflipn
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This turned out awesome! So tasty! I made a couple minor changes just based on my tastes. I ended up using 3 cans of chicken broth because the taters weren't submerged in liquid. I boiled everything until the taters melted in my mouth. Didn't include the ham, instead topped each bowl with shredded cheddar, crumbled bacon and green onions. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
We have made this potato Soup Recipe many times all with GREAT success. I know you will find the taste and flavor very good, also you will find this a very easy soup to make. So anyone will be able to make this and come out with excellent results. WE do use a ham slice that comes from a bone in ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Simple to make and everyone enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was a great recipe! Instead of butter I cooked up 4 slices of diced bacon and added the onions and potatoes to that! It gave the soup a really good flavor! I will so make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very good overall. The broth was a bit thin, so I will take the recommendations that might make it a creamier base. I need up taking this for lunch several days in a row and didn't get sick of it. I think that's a good sign :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I thought it needed a few more spices - maybe a little more salt - maybe I didn't add enough to begin with. I did not include the cooked ham - that could have been part of the spice/flavor problem. I did add a can of Great Northern Beans. They added protein and fiber to the meal. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANNANB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a good recipe. One thing it was missing is carrots. I will add them in next time. Also, I didn't care too much for the ham, I think next time I will saute smoked sausage in place of the ham. Hubby said it needs bacon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Excellent, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Just okay for me. Made as written. It wasn't bad, by any means, but just seemed to be missing something. I have a few other potato soup recipes I enjoy much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States