Alla Checca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2002
Excellent recipe, however it needs just a little more zip. Don't forget to add half a minced red onion (or more to taste). That really complements the tomato flavor. Salt needs to be about half a teaspoon and a hint of freshly ground black pepper. Also, if you're in a hurry or out of fresh tomatoes, the canned tomatoes actually substitute quite well. You can buy whole canned and chop them yourself or buy them already diced. Just make sure you buy the "no salt added" kind or you'll have to adjust the salt in the recipe. Oh, and I think 1/4 cup of olive oil was fine since I am not too fond of oily textures. I would just add an extra tomato or two to have enough sauce. FABULOUS fresh recipe and I like to also use it as a dip on occasion...sort of an Italian salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Simple, homey and delicious classic Italian dish. Something you can put together in minutes and turn out something sensational! I never bother with the marinating part - it's just as good skipping that step. This time, however, I took it a step further and added shrimp, cooked scampi style with a little white wine, lemon juice, fresh parsley and more garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
This recipe was perfect for the fresh tomatoes I picked out of my garden. I didn't have time to let the sauce 'sit' and it still tasted great. I did slightly alter the recipe. I used penne for my pasta, reduced the the garlic to 1 clove and added 1/2 lb boiled shrimp to the finished product -- which helped to make it a bit more hearty for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
So good! Very simple fresh ingredients produce a great dish. I used 1/4 c. of olive oil and cherry tomatoes cut in half. I also used more garlic, 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes along with the fresh basil. I put it in tupperware so I could toss it a few times over the course of a few hours. It went great over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
unbelievably simple, elegant, and tasty! proportions were perfect....should let sauce sit for at least 4-6 hours to macerate and blend flavors. I will make this again and again during the height of the tomato season. this recipe does not tolerate substitutions....it wouldn't be the same with canned tomatoes or dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This is addictive! I let the mixture sit on my counter the full 10 hours. The hot pasta (I used mini penne) mellows the garlic just enough. Very refreshing, and super simple to make (and eat!!). Also good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
I was amazed at how good this was. Just a few simple ingredients provided a wonderfully light yet tasty dish. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
absolutely delicious! i made this for my hubby and his little brother. my brother in law was in charge of the maindish & i got to do the side dish. i've made this recipe twice now, both times with bow-tie noodles. this recipe is in PERMANENT rotation. i love the simplicity of the recipe & complexity of flavor. really good recipe when you are cooking for hard to impress people!! only advice from me is to definetly plan ahead and let marinate at least 4 hours for maximum impact. i grated the parmesan myself, a pain, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
I left off the pasta and used this recipe for Foccacia Bread. If you 've ever had California Pizza Kitchen Foccacia Bread Appetizer, this tastes just like the alla checca they use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Great recipe!. I would not use this much olive oil-it was a bit oily for our taste- maybe cut the oil in half- a little goes a long way. Otherwise loved it- will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States