Alla Checca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Fabulous pasta. I used fresh garden tomatoes and marinated for a couple of hours. I've had similar dishes and I do think the marinating time is key. Added less oil and served as a side dish for bacon wrapped cream cheese chicken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This was really good. I used less oil like others suggested and actually think I could have gotten away with even a little less.Thank you for sharing, stuff like this helps me to realize you dont really need a recipe, if you use all fresh that naturally go together you really cannot go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Used less oil and more of the other ingredients (tomatoes, garlic, basil) - YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I liked it, but it's one of those recipes that succeed or fail depending on the quality of your ingredients. You need the very best, freshly chopped garlic and basil, homegrown sweet tomatoes, fragrant (not rancid) extra virgin olive oil, freshly grated cheese, salt and pepper, and some al dente angel hair pasta. If you use supermarket tomatoes and jarred garlic and dried basil, it might fail miserably. I think it makes a ton of delicate garlicky flavored pasta as a side dish, not for people who want a hearty bowl of spaghetti marinara as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Excellent! Just be careful with the garlic. If you make lots of sauce and it sits in the fridge a day or two, the garlic will get stronger. Still a very, very good recipe for fresh tomatos and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Excellent! Very tasty! The only thing that I did different was to add some of the Kraft Cheese Crumbles "Mediterranean" Style to the tomato mixture and marinated the cheese. This flavor of cheese has parmesan, mozzarella, and feta cheese in it. The pieces of cheese are bigger than grated and they slightly melted or softened when the pasta was added. Very good. I will make this again. I also added less garlic but that was just my family's preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
O my goodness---this is fabulous! Per other reviewers suggestions I only used 1/4 cup olive oil and that was perfect. Added a little salt & pepper and some chicken breasts marinated in italian dressing and grilled. Will definitely make again & again. Thanks for this super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
quick and easy love the flavor... wonder what would happen if you added asparagas??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I loved the adaptability of this recipe. You can really play around with it to suit your own tastes. I didn't have fresh basil on hand, so I just skipped that part, and I still thought it was great. I even added crab in with it and it was great for seafood & pasta. I also was not a fan of the raw garlic, so I just picked must of it out. Perhaps will try a minced garlic jar next time for a lighter flavor. Will definitely make again. Most convenient part was that the sauce could be prepared and then left alone to marinate-I went out shopping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This was an easy recipe and great to make on an evening when you get home just in the nick of time for dinner. My one mistake was using jarred garlic instead of fresh raw to save time because unlike many of the other raters ours was lacking in garlic flavor. We will be making this again and using fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States