Alla Checca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
What a great easy way to use fresh tomatoes. I used 1/2 the amount of oil also, and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Snaps for Star! This is the perfect summer dish. I picked the basil and tomatoes out of the garden. I, too reduced the oil by half and it was wonderful. This would also be great as bruschetta on a crusty bread. Very versatile, very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Yum! So fresh and delicious! I reduce the olive oil pretty significantly, but that is my only change (we don't like that much oil :)). Oh, and I didn't let the mix marinate too long (didn't have time!) but it was delicious nonetheless - next time I will let it sit and I'm sure it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Fabulous pasta. I used fresh garden tomatoes and marinated for a couple of hours. I've had similar dishes and I do think the marinating time is key. Added less oil and served as a side dish for bacon wrapped cream cheese chicken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This was really good. I used less oil like others suggested and actually think I could have gotten away with even a little less.Thank you for sharing, stuff like this helps me to realize you dont really need a recipe, if you use all fresh that naturally go together you really cannot go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Used less oil and more of the other ingredients (tomatoes, garlic, basil) - YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I liked it, but it's one of those recipes that succeed or fail depending on the quality of your ingredients. You need the very best, freshly chopped garlic and basil, homegrown sweet tomatoes, fragrant (not rancid) extra virgin olive oil, freshly grated cheese, salt and pepper, and some al dente angel hair pasta. If you use supermarket tomatoes and jarred garlic and dried basil, it might fail miserably. I think it makes a ton of delicate garlicky flavored pasta as a side dish, not for people who want a hearty bowl of spaghetti marinara as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Excellent! Just be careful with the garlic. If you make lots of sauce and it sits in the fridge a day or two, the garlic will get stronger. Still a very, very good recipe for fresh tomatos and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Excellent! Very tasty! The only thing that I did different was to add some of the Kraft Cheese Crumbles "Mediterranean" Style to the tomato mixture and marinated the cheese. This flavor of cheese has parmesan, mozzarella, and feta cheese in it. The pieces of cheese are bigger than grated and they slightly melted or softened when the pasta was added. Very good. I will make this again. I also added less garlic but that was just my family's preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
O my goodness---this is fabulous! Per other reviewers suggestions I only used 1/4 cup olive oil and that was perfect. Added a little salt & pepper and some chicken breasts marinated in italian dressing and grilled. Will definitely make again & again. Thanks for this super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States