Alla Checca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
According to the USDA, all raw fruits and veggies that have been cut or peeled should be refrigerated within two hours to prevent possible food-borne illnesses. Yes, tomatoes are higher in acids than other foods, but they CAN become infected with bacteria. The best-practice for safe food handling of cut tomatoes is to refrigerate within two hours and within one hour if room temperature is 90 degrees F or higher. Since 76,000,000 people (76 million- this is not a typo) get sick with food-borne illness each year in the USA and 5,000 of those people die it is a good idea to be safe instead of taking chances. As few as 10 bacteria can make you sick, and bacteria can double every 20 minutes at room temperature. 10 accidental bacteria sitting in your tomatoes and olive oil now can become over 5,000 bacteria in 3 hours and over 40,000 in 4 hours. Please be safe with food. Want to check my facts? Need more information? Go To: http://lancaster.unl.edu/food/mypyramid-food-safety_files/frame.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I have made this for many years. It is also good as lunch minus the pasta and cheese, served with a crusty bread to soak up the juice. The longer it sets the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
An idea for those looking to be even healthier.... When I make checca sauce, I sometimes toss it with spaghetti squash instead of pasta and it is fantastic! I also tend to pulse all of the ingredients in a food processor so they better blend. This recipe calls for a lot of oil and that much isn't necessary. You just have to add enough so that the sauce comes together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is excellent. And about the same sauce as I use to put on crisp home made toast for a bruschetta. For a little different tang, I sometimes add a 1/2 tsp fresh rubbed taragon leaves into it. Gives it a combo os tart/tangy/sweet flavor. My compliments to the Chef. I usually slightly heat my sauce first, but it is really fresh and good without cooking first. A great adaption to my personal favorite sauce and bruschetta mixture. a little sweet vidalia onion helps for those who like it. a full 5 stars plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
So good! Very simple fresh ingredients produce a great dish. I used 1/4 c. of olive oil and cherry tomatoes cut in half. I also used more garlic, 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes along with the fresh basil. I put it in tupperware so I could toss it a few times over the course of a few hours. It went great over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Very tasty! Added some finely chopped green peppers and only half the olive oil as others had suggested. Hubby gave it a thumbs up. Will definitely make again-especially with all these wonderful summer tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This recipe was good. I used less olive oil than the recipe called for - I added it into the bowl after I had put in the tomatoes and other ingredients, then just sort of eyeballed it. As the mixture sits, it releases a bit more liquid. I made sure to add plenty of salt to the sauce so the finished pasta would have enough flavor. It was a good way to help me use my summer bounty of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Very good. No need for all that olive oil. A 1/4 cup was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I use this as a Salsa! I don't add as much oilve oil. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELEDONA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Just what I was looking for! I wanted something light to go with my orzo...like an orzo pasta salad. And, something simple. This is so good...needs time to macherate but I just can`t help digging my spoon it. Used basil from my garden and can`t wait until my tomatoes are ripe. This will be my standard summer pasta. YUMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUPPUSAMY

Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States